Do I need developer's edition to wifi tether?

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by goffredo, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. Ed Blown Vert

    Ed Blown Vert Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx HD
    Damn, great feature.
     
  2. 2dulu2u

    2dulu2u Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Newbie question..whats the difference between wireless tether and the mobile hotspot app that comes on the maxx hd?
     
  3. geoff5093

    geoff5093 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Goffstown, NH
    Ratings:
    +29
    They do the same thing, but the mobile hotspot app is only if you have tethering included in your plan. The wireless tethering apps are to allow us to tether if we don't have that feature.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. 2dulu2u

    2dulu2u Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the explanation :biggrin:
     
  5. hatchin

    hatchin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you use the stock wifi tether app wont verizon see that you are tethering?
     
  6. goffredo

    goffredo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure the stock Verizon wifi tether app ("Mobile Hotspot") has a mechanism to count the bytes it serves up to clients that connect to your phone's hotspot. I'd guess that's why it will not work with unlimited data plans; only with capped (1GB/mo, 2GB/mo, etc) plans: that way, every little byte you consume generates $ for them; on an unlimited plan, that would not be the case so you would be getting "free" data.

    Even if I had a capped plan and so I was able to use Mobile Hotspot for wifi tethering, I think I would still opt for a 3rd-part wifi tether app, such as PDANet, FoxFi, android-wifi-tether, etc. Even though some require rooting or don't currently work with this new phone. That way, Verizon is unaware that I'm tethering at all, since these 3rd-party apps sure as heck aren't going to tell Verizon that non-phone devices are consuming the data that flows through them. I don't like Verizon knowing this because it just gives them more leverage to screw me on my bill somehow, now or in the future. I guess I'm a paranoid android.
     
  7. Grouchy

    Grouchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was able to get FoxFi working, no root, after installing the FoxFi AddOn.
     
  8. 2dulu2u

    2dulu2u Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1 on this
     
  9. Sumanji

    Sumanji New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey,

    Slight hijack of this thread, but does anyone have an idea on whether or not the DRHD's radio supports international LTE bands (800/1800/2600 etc.)?

    Thanks,

    Su
     
  10. thedillyoh

    thedillyoh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh thank heaven
     
  11. AuD14

    AuD14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Ratings:
    +6
    For 7/11
     
  12. Sumanji

    Sumanji New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    So if you don't have a tethering plan with Verizon, what happens when you enable the stock Android hotspot feature? Does it just not work? Or is it hidden in the menus?

    Would it work if I used it "roaming" on a UK network?

    Thanks :)

    Su
     
Search tags for this page
droid x developer edition free tether
,

how can i get free tether on a developers edition moto x

,
moto x developer edition foxfi
,
moto x developer edition t-mobile tether
,
moto x developer edition tethering verizon
,
no root tether droid hd
,

ps3 connection to foxfi

,
root and unlocked bootloader droid maxx no hotspot
,
tether verizon s4 developer edition
,
unlock tether verizon razr maxx