1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

do i need a custom rom?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by skuzzzzy, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. skuzzzzy
    Offline

    skuzzzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im not sure if i need a rom. ive rooted my phone in the paste for tethering, now id like to just remove bloatware from the phone.

    i dont want to do anything else to the phone really unless it increases battery that is or has alot of extra features to play with. but not interested in making my phone faster.

    also my droid keeps wanting me to install updates for facebook and other stuff, when i try it goes to the bootloader screen saying bootloader stopped it from updating, am i unable to install updates ever again?
    because my facebook no longer works correctly was hoping that update would fix it.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2011
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    What device do you have? And you say it sends you to bootloader, is one of the updates an OTA software update?
  3. skuzzzzy
    Offline

    skuzzzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    droid OG, and im unsure.
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Facebook updates are not installed from recovery.

    Can you see what OS Ver you are on? Homescreen>Menu key>Settings>About Phone
  5. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need a custom ROM to uninstall bloat. They're plenty of apps that can do it. I use titanium backup. You can use the free version to do it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what bloat came on a droid, it was so long ago that i can't even remember.

    if you want to install a pretty feature-less rom go for bugless beast.
  7. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends on what you use and don't. From memory:

    Amazon MP3
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Some random Google apps

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums