Do I move to Iphone?

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by digrega, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. digrega
    Offline

    digrega New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not an expert on droid OS whatever the version but I bought the Rzr Maxx because I liked the way it looked and worked. I liked the screen size, the battery life etc...
    I was happly working my basic functions such as USB connection to my computer, syncing my songs, my contacts and all of a sudden the update to 4.0 (ICS) is applied and none of the above work anymore.
    1- No more USB
    2- when I try to play songs it tells me the computer is offline (Whaaaat the He11 is that!!!???)
    3- I read these threads and get even more confused about Rooting and Bricking, I know what a brick does but why do I have to root a new device to have it do what it was designed to do??

    To make things even worse I take the phone to a Verizon store and they look at me like I have two heads.

    My question is: is there a place where I can take the phone and I get it back working? I'm talking basic stuff like i mentioned, or do i try to move to a different BRICK
  2. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I would not jump ship to the root of all that is evil in this world just yet. They have an update coming out for the Razr that should make it much more pleasant for you, I am on the leaked .215 update and my phone runs better than it did on Gingerbread.

    The update should be out in the next month hopefully, or you can install the leaked OS yourself and don't even have to be rooted.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-support/217843-mattyps-215-leak-classroom.html
  3. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I know this doesn't make it all ok, but have you tried a factory reset? Those are some weird little bugs your experiencing - unless I'm misinterpreting, in which case please elaborate some more! :)
    1 person likes this.
  4. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I did a factory reset before and after the install of the initial ICS and the leaked update, and both times it makes it run much smoother. OP I would definitely try that as well if you have not already.
  5. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,523
    Likes Received:
    690
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    And sometimes... with the razr.. I've had to do two fdr's in a row. . The reason is that after one the favorites pull down wouldn't work correctly. So i started doing two in a row.

    You don't have to, but it takes another couple of minutes and it insures a smooth install.

    There are those that will argue that...but i say this..android is quirky(one of the things i love about it) and what works for one, may not work for others. :D
  6. digrega
    Offline

    digrega New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where do I get the leaked update? and can some one please show me the factory reset and what to do before and after it?
  7. hufn
    Offline

    hufn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't want to switch. I have had android since the D1 and an iPad for about a year and a half. I thought I wanted an iPhone as android can be so very annoying.... However, I have a 4s in my pocket, which will be someone else's soon (long story) but, you would not believe the one thing that iOS does not have.....

    Speeddial shortcuts!!! Yes, seriously! It has a favorites list, same as android, but you'd have to open then scroll if you have a lot. It is next to impossible to put a widget on the homescreen (springboard for ios) to dial or text someone. Can you believe that?? Seriously??? Isn't that the point of a phone. To call or text someone?
  8. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    iphone is easier for the computer illiterate.. its the truth, less options to customize and more choices made for you... almost like mother Russia lol....
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Doing a factory data reset will make your phone on ICS run very smooth and fix almost every problem. You will pregnant want to backup texts and call logs and make sure any pics are on your SD card.

    As a guide for ideas when backing up and restoring before doing an fdr see: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-help/219101-getting-most-success-upgrading-ics-gb.html

    To do the fdr, go to your phones settings, privacy, uncheck automatic restore (I do that for the ICS update because I don't want any GB settings messing up with my ICS) and then, when you are certain you have saved and backed up everything you want, hit factory data reset. Do not erase the contents of your internal phone storage unless you have saved both your internal and external SD card to your PC.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  10. amadeuss
    Offline

    amadeuss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had some minor problems with my RAZR. FDR didn't help too much so I reflashed the OTR ROM. like another user said...works better than GB now.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2