do i have to root to create a hotspot?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by the11, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. the11
    Offline

    the11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are their ways around this without having to root or use the preinstalled app? looking to occasionally use it with a wifi ipad. thanks.
  2. doomer4life
    Offline

    doomer4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I believe root of preinstalled app is the only way sorry.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    If you want it free, you have to root. Other than that you would have to use the pre-installed app for $20 a month, I believe.
  4. the11
    Offline

    the11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's what i figured. i guess i may root.
  5. doomer4life
    Offline

    doomer4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Hey its not so bad most people here I believe prefer there phone rooted than non

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  6. the11
    Offline

    the11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've been going back and forth on doing it for a while. currently in a warranty replacement fiasco with vzw that will hopefully be resolved tomorrow.
  7. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Being rooted provides a lot of advantages as opposed to being non-rooted.
    You'll never go back ;)
  8. the11
    Offline

    the11 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can you guys point me in the right direction as to which rom, etc i need to go with
  9. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    To root, I would recommend the app z4root. You dont necessarily need to flash a ROM to get the hotspot, but if you want to flash a ROM, I would go with liberty. It all depends on what you want your phone to do.
    I would recommend reading up on rooting and ROMS and such before doing it.
  10. dankarlinski
    Online

    dankarlinski Guest

    For a droid 2, there are really 3 major ones...

    Rubix

    Fission

    Liberty



    Rubix is by far the fastest of the 3. Fairly customizable, and well supported.

    Fission is the middle ground. Out of the box it isn't much different than stock w/o motoblur, but it has loads of customization thru fission rom manager. Not as many options as rubix tho

    Liberty is the most customizable of the 3, 2nd fastest to rubix, but has the best battery life. It is also the most stable in my opinion. Liberty has their toolbox (like fission rom manager) with everything from extra apps, themes, etc. to customization options of the pulldown bar, and other framework changes.


    Overall, you need to find what you like, and what fits you best.

    If it were my, my choice would be

    1. Liberty
    2. Rubix
    3. Fission


    But it should be trial and error until you find one you like


    EDIT

    As TB said, z4 is the easiest rooting option. If you do decide to go custom, you'll need to install clockwork recovery using rom manager from the market, and you'll need to get the droid 2 dootstrapper. I have a copy of z4 and the bootstrapper ready for distribution if you want it. Shoot me a pm if you do
    From my Liberated Droid 2 (Liberty v 1.5)
  11. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  12. MASTER
    Offline

    MASTER New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you have to root. Other than that you would have to use the pre-installed app for $20 a month, believe prefer there phone rooted thancurrently in a warranty replacement fiasco but if you want to flash a ROM, I would go with liberty.