Do i have " a bad touchscreen" does not work in flat surfaces

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by chad_petree, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. chad_petree

    chad_petree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive noticed my milestone doesnt respond well when its " grounded" , when its on a surface like a table, my bed and i to tap the touchscreen it starts doing random things like selecting the wrong icons, opening the wrongs apps etc, cant unlock the device ....it doesnt respond correctly , i know the droid incredible was suffering from this issues , i kinda recall my milestone wasnt this way, can someone comment on this?
     
  2. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it was a hardware issue it would do it all the time.

    The phone doesnt "ground" out on your bed, 1. because your bed doesnt conduct electricity and 2. Neither does the plastic housing on the phone.
     
  3. chad_petree

    chad_petree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    what i mean by "ground" is putting the phone on a flat surface, it only works in my hand is what im trying to say =( , can u try doing this yourself?
     
  4. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine works fine. What I find though is that it is harder to precisely hit the buttons your trying to hit, when its flat.

    So I think its just more user error when its flat, cause I cant hardly type on it that way.
     
  5. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone has done this before, but it's not an ongoing occurrence.
     
  6. chad_petree

    chad_petree Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is weird, now my phone is behaving like normal, it works on flat surfaces wtf , after days with this problem, now its gone? =/
     
  7. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The HTC Evo was having this problem and a software update solved the issue. I haven't really heard too many complaints about the Droid doing this, so if it keeps up, I would give Motorola a call.
     
  8. Lesiroth

    Lesiroth New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This happened to me the other day. I really freaked out..
    until I pulled out the USB cable from my phone and it stopped acting wierd.

    Try the touchscreen with and without your USB cable plugged.
     
Search tags for this page
android screen wont work when flat
,
htc droid dna touch screen not working properly
,
htc touchscreen doesnt work when tablet is flat
,
table touch screen not working
,

touch doesnt work on putting flat

,
touch dont work on flat surface
,
touch screen doesnt work on table
,

touchscreen in flat surface android

,
touchscreen work in hand not on ground or table
,
why touch is not working in flat surface