DLNA devices

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by wctaylor79, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. wctaylor79

    wctaylor79 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I know the TB has DLNA and not HDMI. No problem there. What I am trying to figure out is how to connect with non DLNA TV. I know there has been some discussion randomly through the threads but wanted to start a thread to figure out best methods.

    Personally I am looking into iusing my Xbox 360. My question is can it be done? I know that it has DLNA capabilites. Does this mean I can just connect my TB with the Xbox whenever and run things through the Xbox? Do I still need something like the HTC Media Dock? Any insight?
     
  2. envirosciguy

    envirosciguy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to do the exact same thing. Anyone out there with experience on connecting another device with DLNA to an Xbox 360?
     
  3. Blackhawk55

    Blackhawk55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. wctaylor79

    wctaylor79 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thnaks.. Yeah looking through the pages here and on the internet it seems perfectly feasible. Just need to get one in my hands and go home and try it out.. Any X users do this already with DLNA and Xbox?
     
  5. motty69

    motty69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got and old a$$ CRT television which I won't be able to replace anytime soon. I'm thinking of getting a WD Live box from Amazon for less than $100. It would work with my old style connections as well as newer HDTVs. It does a whole lot more than the adapter from HTC for less than $20 more. :)
     
  6. atpjoe

    atpjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have always wondered what dlna was... sounds pretty dope. I have ps3s on all our TVs so hopefully it works.

    Sent from my GSBv1.6-ERIS using DroidForums App
     
  7. smokiedabong

    smokiedabong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    I don't have hands on experience with DNLA or DLNA whatever it's called but I've read a fair amount of documentation about it and seeing this thread I was thinking about the downsides of DNLA , apart from not supporting HD video , the price of the adapter ( $130-$150 ) and limited flexibility and mobility here is another one , I was just thinking , if DLNA is using TCP/IP to send information you need the WNIC enabled on your phone which will disable your 3G/4G connection so you won't be able to use VZ data plan to stream movies , webpages or internet related content to your TV through DLNA .
     
  8. motty69

    motty69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    DLNA works through (and requires?) a wifi or lan connection. I believe it has to have an IP address on your local network. Pushing it through your cell connection (especially 3G) would add to much latency for a smooth experience.

    Sent from my Eris
     
  9. urklegrue

    urklegrue Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So has anyone figured out how this works yet? I have an XBox 360 and now the Thunderbolt. How to get them to communicate?
     
  10. Blackhawk55

    Blackhawk55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have my TB yet (c'mon FedEx!) but from previous research, I believe that the TB doesn't come with a DNLA server. I was going to go the route of downloading TwonkyServer Mobile from the market. I played with it on my Droid quite a while ago but the memory requirements were more than my Droid could supply.

    I then plan on trying DNLA via my PS3 and Logitech Revue.
     
  11. manilaboy1vic

    manilaboy1vic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +3
    I use DNLA with my PS3 and my FreeBSD server... cant wait to try it out with the TB.
     
  12. urklegrue

    urklegrue Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured out how to stream music using Twonky to the XBox, which was pretty cool. The video thing though is a puzzle since the format used by Android isn't recognized.
     
Search tags for this page
best dlna app for htc thunderbolt
,

connect htc thunderbolt to tv

,
dlna adapter for tv
,
dlna htc thunderbolt
,
how to connect htc thunderbolt to tv
,
how to use connected media on htc thunderbolt
,

how to use dlna on htc thunderbolt

,
htc thunderbolt connected media
,
htc thunderbolt connected media app
,
thunderbolt dlna