Discouraged and need help installing ROM

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by joezek, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. joezek

    joezek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PSL, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I'm getting pretty frustrated since nothing seems to work and all my searches are unbelievably full of way too many results with no answers.

    I have a DX and simply want a step by step guide to changing the ROM. I don't know why but it's friking impossible to find a thread telling me how to do so. I just wasted no less than 3 hours searching with all kinds of detours misleading me into every wrong dead end you can imagine.

    So far I've successfully rooted the phone. I supposedly installed clockwork mod, however it will not boot into the clockwork mod bootloader. I've searched the Koush website endlessly for instructions and can't find them. I have superuser setup and it says ROM manager and Titanium backup are both allowed.

    I've downloaded the Liberty ROM onto the phone and it shows it to me in the ROM manager, but will not reboot into the loader. Instead it just keeps skipping that and going into a normal reboot. I'm about to throw it out the window.
     
  2. KHeeney5

    KHeeney5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem is Rom manager is essentially useless on your phone. You need to pick up a copy of the droid x bootstrapper either in the marketplace or from koush's website and use that to get access to clockwork mod recovery.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  4. joezek

    joezek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PSL, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your advice, I installed the bootstrap. We'll see how I do now.
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you have the bootstrapper hit bootstrap recovery to get access to cm recovery. After that its mostly self explanatory but if you have any questions don't hesitate to post em here.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  6. joezek

    joezek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PSL, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    any suggestions for using the USB cable to keep it charging while updating ROM?
     
  7. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    It won't charge while its in recovery so have it charged to at least like 80% before you start.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  8. joezek

    joezek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PSL, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    all done, but all my apps are missing
     
  9. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what happens when you do a data wipe. If you didn't back up your apps with titanium then after you open the market for the first time your apps will start do download again.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  10. joezek

    joezek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PSL, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the market but nothing has happened. The only app it shows me in market is the bootstrap I paid for. I'm trying to remember which ones I had and download them all again....getting there. Seems faster, maybe all in my head.
     
  11. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    All your apps should simply reload shortly after you load your new rom. It is all automatic and if it's not you don't have your settings correct.
     
  12. joezek

    joezek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PSL, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need some coaching with saving my apps too. Apparently I can't seem to find any setting for backing them up. I had the Droid Incredible and rooted it, and experimented with different ROMs and every time the apps reinstalled themselves. This time I don't know what I did differently. I've even exchanged my phone with a warranty replacement (DINC) and that time all the apps installed by themselves. I've tried looking at the sync menu and can't seem to find anything there either. I thought that when I powered up the phone for the very first time, and it asked me to type in my google account number, then it logged into market and begins downloading previous apps...?

    Isn't Google supposed to have all that stored on my account?