Disable the Search Button?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by estochin, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. estochin

    estochin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to disable the Search Button at the bottom right corner of the Droid? I hit this button all the time when I pick up my phone. I'd rather access this service by an icon.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. kinhell

    kinhell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd love to know this too... but I'd like the one on the slide-out keyboard disabling.. I seem to hit it a lot when trying to press the ALT button (my fingers aren't big and chunk by any stretch of the imagination).
     
  3. Palmyra

    Palmyra Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Just North of Columbus Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    :icon_ banana: This is why I love this forum. I find out that I'm not completely dysfunctional because others have the same problem as I do.
     
  4. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't think it's possible natively from the phone itself, others may know if an app exists for this.
     
  5. Xerozix

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it's possible to assign the handcent quick compose as the default button press. I'm sure you can make a app to do nothing and assign it to the button.
     
  6. tlq

    tlq New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone? anyone? that button is so useless, I never find myself using it but often accidentally hitting it on manyyyy occasions.
     
  7. Xerozix

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will probably learn java and write an app for that tonight. Just wait.
     
  8. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6

    Yeah....You do that...:icon_ banana:
     
  9. silverx10

    silverx10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So... where's that app you promised?

    Though really, I guess all you'd have to do is put this in the onCreate() block:

    Code:
    finish();
    break;
     
  10. Xerozix

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    No need to be such an ass about it. I'm currently trying to learn java. It isn't easy.
     
  11. silverx10

    silverx10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Surely you're not suggesting I'm being an ass. If that were the case, I would've stopped at the ?, and not gone on to suggest a possible approach.
     
  12. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use the long press on that button for voice nav and search
     
  13. Liaison

    Liaison New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone come up with a solution for this? This button has become tiresome...
     
Search tags for this page
captivate disable search button
,
disable search button android
,
disable search button on droid razr
,
disable search button samsung captivate
,
disable the buttons on bottom of droid razr
,
disable the search button on my samsung i677
,

samsung captivate disable search button

,
samsung galaxy to disable search button
,
samsung how to disable search button bottom right
,
what is bottom right corner button pm motorola droid