Disable auto startup of apps?

matt011990

Reaction score
I noticed ever since I got 2.2, my battery was getting worse. So I looked into the taskpanel app and it was showing apps running that I never use. Am I missing something that will disable the autostart up of these apps, or is there something else that I need?

As a heads up, the apps that keep showing up are VZ Navigator, Skype, Amazon MP3, Car Panel, Maps, Navigation, as well as some others. Most of these things I don't use.

Matt

Last edited:
OP
M

matt011990

Reaction score
Yeah, I don't really want to root it. I've had mixed experience in the past with rooting/jailbreaking devices in the past. Even more because I'm still really new to this platform.

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
Why do you feel the need to keep them from starting?

Android manges memory alot different than other OS's do.

OP
M

matt011990

Reaction score
Yes I understand that. I need to keep them from starting because where I go to school, I have terrible reception in many places and when my phone is searching for a signal, it uses the battery much faster. I have gone from a day+ without needing a charge to about 9-10 hours! I really love this phone, so the day+ battery isn't horrible, but the 9-10 hours is.

Darkseider

Reaction score
Don't kill them, don't stop them.. leave them be. They aren't doing crap. Please for the love of all that is good and holy left in this world DO NOT install or use a task killer. The easiest way to troubleshoot battery life problems is to first reboot the phone and let it get a proper charge overnight. Then use it as normal. If the battery is still an issue, go to the settings and check battery usage and it will show you what is using the battery most. Then begin your troubleshooting from there.

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score