Disable (and hide), All Droid Turbo BloatWare Without Root!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by DroidModderX, Nov 8, 2014.

  1. DroidModderX

    DroidModderX Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,690
    Likes Received:
    2,115
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +2,234
    [​IMG]

    There is nothing worse then spending a hefty chunk of change on a new smartphone just to find that it is bogged down and cluttered with apps that are preinstalled to net your carrier some extra money. By now consumers have complained enough that most carriers have enabled the option to disable these apps in settings. They still take up precious space from your internal memory, but at least they aren't cluttering up your device.

    It can be a pain to go through and manually disable each app. Thanks to a new script by developer "RootJunky" you can now disable all bloatware on the Droid Turbo with a mouse click. His script will automatically disable bloatware. The apps will still be on your phone, but will be out of sight and out of mind. This actually turns out to be a pretty good way to deal with bloat. With the apps still being physically on your device you are able to accept OTAs when they come out. Head to the link below for the download.

    via RootJunkysdl
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Was hoping it was something I could flash right on the phone. So I'll have to break out the laptop.
     
  3. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Before I devote like 15-20 minutes - How's this work? Do I then need my cord to hook the phone up to the computer?
     
  4. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    Debloat is easy, this just makes it a little easier...

    You can either go into the stock app manager and disable the apps you don't want, which is easy and takes less than 5 min, or you can run this tool that just connects to the phone via the cable and ADB, and runs a script to disable the bloat apps for you. Essentially, they both accomplish the same thing...
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    OK, so I tried this but I can't get my laptop to recognize the phone in ADB. At least apparently that's what I think is wrong. All the functions installed properly and I can enter ADB commands in a Command prompt, but the script hands at "daemon started successfully" right after starting on port 5037.

    Any ideas anyone?
     
  6. Poqdiam

    Poqdiam New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 64 Ballistic Nylon
    Ensure that you look at your phone and allow the computer access to your phone. The daemon restarts and if you didn't choose to allow that machine access every time, you will have to re-grant it permissions.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Poqdiam

    Poqdiam New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 64 Ballistic Nylon
    Also, I happen to use Kindle and I like the new messaging app. in order to keep those you can either comment them out of the Block Bloat Ware.bat with a # or use the Unblock Bloat Ware.bat and comment out everything that you don't want to re-add. I found this out after I ran it. In order to comment out lines, open either file by:
    Right click file -> Choose Edit -> Find the apps you want to change and place a # at the front of that line.
    E.x.
    #tools\adb shell "pm block com.verizon.messaging.vzmsgs" (commented out)
    tools\adb shell "pm block com.motorola.zap" (Not commented out, will be disabled)

    The line that is commented out is the new messaging app on the Turbo, so if you like it, be sure to comment that out.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately the phone never asks for access. Instead the phone shows up as a Media device, I have full access to the storage with the computer file manager, but can't get ADB to recognize the phone. I feel frustrated because I've used ADB in the past to do root commands with prior phones, but I'm getting nowhere with this Turbo. ADB does respond when I type ADB and hit return in the command window, but all I'm getting when the phone is plugged in and the Bloat bat file is run is the following;

    Turbo.png

    This window sits there and does nothing. When I enter ADB USB, I get "Device not found".
     
  9. Poqdiam

    Poqdiam New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 64 Ballistic Nylon
    In your device manager (Win8 -> Right click on Window button select "Device Manager") Do you have any yellow !. Ensure you have the ADB driver installed. Here is a link that may help. Tutorial Manually installing Android ADB USB Driver If you have already done this, my apologies, but I had the same issues and these are the steps I took.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Sorry, was looking myself when you were responding and was able to resolve. It's all about the Motorola ADB Interface driver not being properly installed. The instructions I linked above worked perfectly but I'm sure yours do as well. Thanks so much but I found it at the same moment as you were responding.
     
  12. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +280
    In less time than it is taking to figure out what drivers to install or whatever, you could just disable the bloat manually and be done. hehe
     
Search tags for this page
apps to disable on droid turbo
,
droid turbo bloatware
,
droid turbo remove apps
,
droid turbo remove bloatware
,

droid turbo root

,
hide apps on droid turbo
,
how to hide apps on droid turbo
,
how to root a droid turbo
,
how to root droid turbo
,
root droid turbo