DInc2 native screenshot?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by karinagw, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. karinagw
    Offline

    karinagw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    So, I accidentally took a screenshot today. I was just holding my phone in my right hand, having finished doing something or another & I heard a shutter sound (which puzzled me because I have the sound turned off in the camera).

    Anyhoo, I went to the gallery and lo and behold there was a pic of my desktop in .png (everything else is .jpg).

    Meandering about the web, I've seen that at some point we've gained native screenshot ability AND I've found a bunch of people who have done this accidentally & are looking for answers and a couple of people who have said, use the home & power button together. That just doesn't work for me. Can someone be a little more specific about what to do to achieve this.

    Thanks/Karina
  2. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've only been able to get it to work from the lock screen

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Droid Forums
  3. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Take that back... Click both very fast lol... It will work

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Droid Forums
  4. CtrlZ
    Offline

    CtrlZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not the home and power button its the power button and volume down to grab a screen shot.

    I love that its finally native and I don't have to root or use a third party app for it!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Actually it is home and power button. Hold power button and then press home just before the shutdown options pop up

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Droid Forums
  6. KThomas25
    Offline

    KThomas25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    So incredible LOL. I was just searching my phone and new apps to find out from where a screen shot of my locked home screen might have been generated, as I noticed it yesterday while looking through my gallery. Thought I'd search here and this was the first post.

    Sent from here with my phone, y'all.
  7. karinagw
    Offline

    karinagw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I can kind of see how it could be home & volume since I was just holding it in my hand when it happened & those are the only buttons I could have inadvertently pressed. But, I just canNOT make it happen again. Doesn't matter how fast I push anything, I wind up with black screen, a volume change or a simultaneous black screen & volume change (which was kinda fun). GAH!

    Edit:

    AH HA! But, I can now duplicate it. By following sweenbeen's method of holding down down the power key & pushing the home key just before the options pop up...gotta get the timing just right. AND, once you do that, as long as you keep your power button pushed down, you are in screenshot mode and can switch screens, enter (at least some) apps & take screenshots just by pushing the home button again. If you release the power key, you have to start from scratch.
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  8. KThomas25
    Offline

    KThomas25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep.Gonna go play a bit... Power/ home worked here too.

    Sent from here with my phone, y'all.
  9. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hold the power button until just before the shot down menu pops up, then tap the home button

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Droid Forums
  10. Dkobebry8
    Offline

    Dkobebry8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is in fact the power and home button. You have to time it right. But definitely works... Enjoy!!!!!
  11. mgullick
    Offline

    mgullick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works in all apps. I opened WWF and then pressed the power button and held it down and pressed the home button. Zapped a picture of the WWF screen.
  12. BrightZombie
    Offline

    BrightZombie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Karina, I to have accidentally did a screenshot today. I heard the shutter which i have turned off and when i looked at my phone it said screenshot saved in gallery. or something like that. anyway, on my Dinc2 its the same as an iphone you hold down the top button or sleep button first then hit the home button. obviously if you hold the sleep too long you will be prompted to restart or shut down so dont hold it too long. just push it down, and while holding it hit the home. I have been waiting for this for soo long I am so happy I can screenshot now. Before the only way i could screenshot was only sms messages through the GoLauncher app. no rooting required. hope this helps I also found a video on youtube that shows what i just described. most people say you have to hit them at the same time or really fast. not true top first, hold down then home. good luck
  13. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    Interesting, I just saw this thread. When I get home I'm going to try this on my wife's Dinc2. The power button + home button is how you take screen shots on the Rezound so it makes sense that the Dinc2 would be the same since they are both HTC.
Search tags for this page
dinc 2 screenshot
,

dinc2 screenshot

,

droid incredible 2 screenshot

,
how to screenshot on a droid incredible 2
,
how to screenshot on droid incredible 2
,
how to screenshot on incredible 2
,
htc incredible 2 screenshot
,

incredible 2 screenshot

,

screenshot droid incredible 2

,

screenshot incredible 2