Difficulty SBFing Droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by adt1982, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. adt1982
    Offline

    adt1982 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I had some issues, detailed here.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/lib...-new-post.html

    I tried the maderstcok but then it just went to a ready to program screen.

    I'm trying to SBF, but RSDlite won't detect my phone. Windows says it can't find software to install the phone.

    I just want a working phone back...
     
  2. knivesout
    Offline

    knivesout Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Follow the directions on this link.
    Basically you have to download RSD Lite 4.9, Motorola drivers, and the SBF file.
    Install everything on your computer and run RSD Lite.
    When the process is complete the phone will be stuck in a bootloop and RSD will say something like "please restart phone manually".
    When that happens, pull the battery, and reboot the phone pressing X on the keyboard. This will take you to a screen with the android guy and a caution symbol. Hit the search key on the keyboard and a menu will pop up. Select wipe data/factory reset then select wipe cache. Reboot the phone and your phone will be back to how it was when you took it out of the box.
     
  3. eqforus5
    Offline

    eqforus5 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a D2G would I use the same files or are they different for me? I am having the same issue adt1982 is.
     
  4. eqforus5
    Offline

    eqforus5 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I messed up trying to sbf the first time and it will only go into the bootloader screen now.
     
  5. metiCkOne
    Offline

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you guys making sure you go into recovery after you flash the sbf and wiping cache and partition?
     
  6. demonhawk1313
    Offline

    demonhawk1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same boat with my D2. Completely stuck at the bootloader screen. I can't get into recovery and the sbf fails with PB passthrough failure. Any ideas?
     
  7. eqforus5
    Offline

    eqforus5 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I finally got it to work. The only thing I can figure I did wrong was not click on show device. Second time around I got stuck in bootloop but I rebooted into recovery and did the wipe and then all was fine.
     
  8. eqforus5
    Offline

    eqforus5 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    TN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't sbf but gotta take it back to Verizon cause screen starting to not come back on if I shut it off manually.