diffference between roms????

Fx4Nick

Reaction score
I have a total noob question and I have been reading on here for several weeks and have not found much good info.

What is the difference between roms???

From what I under stand a custom rom changes the way the device operates. But what else? Maybe the better question is "What is the ROM?"

Is it just difference Widgets (icons)??? What else changes?

I just rooted today. I was really hoping to "remove" rename some of the "bloatware". Several people told mee that I would be better to freeze it with titanium back up until I get a custom rom.

I have seen many different types of roms here but I dont under stand the difference between them.

Would like to see screen shots if possible

Thanks for the info

chkmate

Silver Member
Reaction score
Read read read, you'll see.

Some go more for speed. Some go for looks. Others for blur or blurless. They are all tweaked different in different ways. Mine right now comes with it all, including different window animations.
aefd509e-4204-47a4.jpg

//Tap'd on CM8's DX w/DF app\\

OP
F

Fx4Nick

Reaction score
Ok that helps some.... I would be looking for speed

What is Blur/blur -less??

m1ghtysauc3

Reaction score

Blur is the UI that Motorola has started placing over the Android OS in order to create a more 'user friendly' look and feel for the general user. However, Blur cause lag and is loaded with bloatware (apps forced on you by Verizon). The original Droid is Blur-less and the Droid 2 and X are loaded with Blur. A lot of ROMS for the D2 and DX remove Blur, making it well, in my opinion, better. Make sense?

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

chkmate

Silver Member
Reaction score

Well Darkslide v4.1 w/4.2 update is pretty quick and smooth. Kejar's GummJar is an excellent choice for speed. I would hold off till his and Jrummy's comes out in a couple days. Maybe a week.

m1ghtysauc3

Reaction score