"Did something BAD?" & 3:00A.M. phone dialing!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by #13, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. #13
    Offline

    #13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LBI, NJ
    Could use everyone's help please---I think I might've accidentally did something BAD.....

    This A.M. I was in the middle of a phone call with my boss when the Dec. 11 update said it wanted to start so I said, "do update later" or however it was worded.

    When I went to do the install I saw some warning about "open home" needing to be force stopped and then all data about the update disappearred. My phone is indicating that there are no updates available but where it says "about phone..it says Firmware 2.0"

    Unless that update took about 3-4 seconds and doesnt change from 2.0 to 2.01 I think something occurred to "kill my update." Anyone have any ideas/input? Is there some kind of "proof" your update has downloaded. I really dont think mine did.

    Also,for all of you that participated in the thread about the phone calls being made by your phones wihile you slept ........My life is very stressful and I truly dont laugh often but your comments about the droids all taking over, etc. were so darn funny!!! You guys were so clever. The thread even had a BONUS VOCABULARY WORD....I had to look up "perspicacious autonomy" and would just love to throw that out in a sentence someday-LOL http://www.droidforums.net/forum/te...moto-droid-calling-people-middle-night-8.html

    Barb
  2. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    settings > about > scroll to the bottom and it will have firmware version: should say 2.0.1.
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Barb,

    If for some reason the OTA update is gone you can always manually update. Although I can't see the OTA update just 'disappearing'.
  4. #13
    Offline

    #13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LBI, NJ
    Thats what I thought

    Yup, as I said it still shows "firmware 2.0"

    I wish now I had told my boss I had to "go" and let my first update to the phone go through right then but I never thought it would be "GONE" if I said install later.

    The only sign something was odd was the message about "open home" needing a force stop and then the update no longer showed as being available.

    I wonder if I can "manually" get my update somehow???

    Barb
  5. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    I suggest that you download and install either Astro or OI File Manager. Either will allow you to look at your SD card and see if there is an update.zip file there. If there is, then you should be able to follow the manual install instructions; power on while pressing 'x', then when the '/!\' appears hold the volume up button and then press the camera button. This will start the upgrade.

    If the file is not on your SD card then I suggest seeing if it tries again tonight. If not, then you'll have to do the whole manual install thing.

    It really should be nagging you every 30 minutes to upgrade, but perhaps whatever tells it to do that was lost somehow. Did you try powering down and then back up?
  8. madrsx
    Offline

    madrsx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you tried going into Settings > About Phone > System Updates and seeing if the update is available before manually installing it? it seems that once you get the notification, you should be able to do it this way.
  9. #13
    Offline

    #13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LBI, NJ
    Yes, kept checking

    Initially I wasnt worried at all, figured my update would be sitting in the notification bar and would "nag me" every 1/2 hour until it was installed....

    I turned phone on and off a couple of times then proceeded to get upset.

    Getting this phone was the first "technological treat" I've had in a VERY LONG TIME" and darn it I want that first update-LOL.

    Barb :)
  10. texasPI
    Offline

    texasPI New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    Whats the big deal? Just manually update and be done with it.
  11. bots
    Offline

    bots New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    If you dont wanna do the manual thing you should get the OTA again sooner or later. Try going into date/time settings and set the date forward one day, reboot and see if you get a notification. Don't forget to set the time/date back to auto!
  12. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Active Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    just goto

    menu > settings > about phone > system updates

    this will let you initiate the update manually if you have already been notified.
  13. superglen99
    Offline

    superglen99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    Settings about phone check for updates. Easy
  14. #13
    Offline

    #13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LBI, NJ
    not listed

    Thanks to everyone who tried to help me....guess ill try the manual update. .... some ppl misunderstood. ....the update was available for about 8 seconds then DISAPPEARED!! That's why I wrote here....thought that was strange.

    Thanks again.....hope everyone enjoys their droids today. :)
    :)
  15. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri

    Yep Yep!! Nothing to be scared of.... except the ----->:icon_ banana: