Did motorola just log into my gmail account?!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by abean, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. abean

    abean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got a message in gmail this morning stating that there was suspicious activity in my email account 14 hours ago. I took the IP (69.10.177.11) and did a whois, and here are the results. Should I be concerned ... ie, change my password? I hate to sound like a noob here, but is this my phone's address? I would think I would have seen this message quite some time ago though as I've had the X since launch ...

    Thanks

    NetRange: 69.10.176.0[​IMG] - 69.10.191.255[​IMG]
    CIDR: 69.10.176.0[​IMG]/20
    OriginAS:
    NetName: MOTOROLA-BLUR
    NetHandle: NET-69-10-176-0-1
    Parent: NET-69-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Assignment
    RegDate: 2010-04-01
    Updated: 2010-04-01
    Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-69-10-176-0-1

    OrgName: Motorola Inc
    OrgId: MOTOR-34
    Address: 809 11th Ave
    City: Sunnyvale
    StateProv: CA
    PostalCode: 94089
    Country: US
    RegDate: 2009-05-04
    Updated: 2010-03-11
    Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/org/MOTOR-34

    OrgAbuseHandle: CBE159-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Beck, Chris
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-408-541-6752
    OrgAbuseEmail: ECSVCOPS@motorola.com
    OrgAbuseRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/CBE159-ARIN

    OrgNOCHandle: MBN9-ARIN
    OrgNOCName: Motorola BLUR NOC
    OrgNOCPhone: +1-408-541-6880
    OrgNOCEmail: blurnoc@motorola.com
    OrgNOCRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/MBN9-ARIN

    OrgTechHandle: DKE141-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Kekai, Daniel
    OrgTechPhone: +1-408-541-6825
    OrgTechEmail: ndt736@motorola.com
    OrgTechRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/DKE141-ARIN

    RTechHandle: DKE141-ARIN
    RTechName: Kekai, Daniel
    RTechPhone: +1-408-541-6825
    RTechEmail: ndt736@motorola.com
    RTechRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/DKE141-ARIN
     
  2. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Uh.. that certainly is suspicious.
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Call one of the phone numbers and ask....
     
  4. Rindaen

    Rindaen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    GA
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. xlinth

    xlinth Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is ur phone using a form of motoblur.....if so it may be a proprietary moto app that accesses ur account like a widget that goes thru motos site .....like maybe a cloud service.

    Sent from my Moto Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. abean

    abean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Backnblack - I may do that later.

    Rindaen, that link doesn't appear to be working, would like to see what it says.

    xlinth, pretty sure the X uses a form of motoblur no? Regardless, I've had the phone since launch and this is the first time I've seen the message ... just seems odd to me.
     
  7. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you in or near Sunnyvale, California? If not I'd be calling about it.
     
  8. Rsswga

    Rsswga Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    good old drama
     
  9. abean

    abean Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Negative ... Ohio.
     
  10. Rindaen

    Rindaen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not sure why the link didnt work. Worked when I clicked it.

    Its mainly a post like this one but someone made a call and posted the below.

    Spoke to some Mid Level Engineer at the Motorola Node for Blur Services. Seems there is an issue where the Blur apps are attempting to gain access into owners Emails, I got an incident number and was apologized to at least a dozen times in a 10 minutes period.
     
  11. specmac

    specmac Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got a similar warning from Google/Gmail right after I switch from the Droid 1 to the Droid X.

    Definitely something to do with the MotoBlur software/infrastructure.

    Google and Motorola really should get their act together and not be sending these false positive intrusion warnings out to customers.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  12. Zael

    Zael New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Motorola should get their act together. As far as I am concerned this is a Motorola issue that is happening with customers owning a Motorola phone. I want Google to report suspicious activity to me. Motorola is the company that needs to make their apps/widget/framework/whatever play nice.
     
  13. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That droid x code is a mess, in my opinion. What's up with the stock keyboard that takes up basically the whole screen in portrait mode and can't even figure out to put an apostrophe in can't? What's up with GPS apparently not allowing the phone to sleep and running down the battery? What's up with the ugly contacts icon that looks like an alien? They should've left that motoblur crap off the phone...a real shame
     
  14. seandudley

    seandudley New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine puts the apostophe in can't when I just type "cant" without any problem. I think there is an auto-correct setting, maybe you have yours turned off?
     
  15. Zael

    Zael New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI: The apostrophe is in the numeric keyboard. I have no idea what made them think people would use the apostrophe while in the numeric keyboard, but that is where it is.
     
Search tags for this page
(408) 541-6880 motorola
,

daniel kekai

,
gmail motorola - network computing services
,
hanhtrunhvanhoa2013.mto@gmail.com
,
kanniphat mot gmail.com
,
kekai , daniel
,
mahtabansari.mot@gmail.com
,
tina lamias motorola