Did ics on rezound kill battery?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by thrgk, Aug 6, 2012.

  1. thrgk

    thrgk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Maybe no ics for me. Seems like gb is best

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. Brightonbrad

    Brightonbrad Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm at 16% right now with under 11 hours of use.......and I'm on extended battery. That's what I used to get with normal battery. What happened to the rumors of better battery on ics

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,323
    Likes Received:
    2,648
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Ratings:
    +3,026
    One reason my battery is hurting is the signal in my area went from bad to worse a couple of weeks ago, my battery life had already gone down some when it happened.
    Today my battery is back to about what it was before ics updated. The only thing I've done differently is stopped using Widget Locker this morning. Again, nothing is standing out but a lot of a little this and that is adding up.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
     
  4. gerrya

    gerrya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maps seems to be a big issue. Myself and my wife have Rezound's and neither of us opened them today and maps is right under screen for battery usage. If it wasn't for that, the battery life would be good for us. I rebooted last night and didn't open Maps today but it opens in the background for some reason. Is there anything we can do to stop maps (besides disabling) from running or do we have to wait for an update?
     
  5. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,323
    Likes Received:
    2,648
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Ratings:
    +3,026
    Maybe try uninstall updates? I had to do that last summer when an update caused the same problem on my Inc. It solved the battery drain. Personally I believe it's in the offline cache because both times I've had a problem was when the update addressed offline cache.
    I don't use Maps much, maybe twice a year, so I froze mine rather than attempt anything else .

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
     
  6. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    All ticked... Will have to play this some more, but my battery life is getting better day by day, I don't really understand why though.

    "Maps" seems to be what is listed anytime anything uses the GPS, including the built-in Weather sync (if you don't use the widgets or weather lockscreen, make sure to turn off the Weather sync as well), Facebook, c:geo, or whenever you see the GPS Icon on the top of the phone active it will add time to the Maps application in the what's using my battery section.
     
  7. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    So un-check GPS and Google. One of those is most likely starting Maps.
     
  8. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Yeah, probably will as soon as I find a widget to toggle it easily (I know they are out there, I just have to look a little bit) since I do geocaching, kinda tough to do without the GPS.
     
  9. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    That is not the normal GPS on and off. It is to let the phone use the VZW NETWORK, GPS and/or Google determine the phones location. There other places to turn the GPS on for apps.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Or Notification toggle can be set to control many things.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. gerrya

    gerrya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the build in HTC widget, works good and matches the other HTC ones.
     
  12. hotsaucecommittee

    hotsaucecommittee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've not noticed any difference in battery. If anything, maybe ever so slightly better. I never use maps either and it has always ate up battery, do you guys all recommend freezing it?
     
Search tags for this page
57s on battery
,

htc rezound battery drain

,
htc rezound battery issues
,
htc rezound battery life
,
htc rezound ics battery drain
,
htc rezound ics battery issues
,
ics update cause battery drain have rezound
,
rezound 5 hours on battery
,
rezound battery issues
,

rezound battery life