Did I really screw up?

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by Jus Cruisin, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. Jus Cruisin
    Offline

    Jus Cruisin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I inadvertently entered reboot recovery (I think - it was a while ago) in the second screen in clockwork. and I now am stuck on a screen that has a triangle around a "!" and a little green droid dude under it. I was about to pull the battery but figured that would really "brick" it. What in the world do I do now?

    I also posted in the Rescue section without any views....
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011
  2. Jus Cruisin
    Offline

    Jus Cruisin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I figured it out by hitting the "search key" and it brought up a different (blue) reboot screen.
     
  3. meshdub
    Offline

    meshdub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    that's a stock recovery that you entered. Nothing dangerous =)
    I think it gets enabled when holding home button when powering up the phone. Can't remember for sure, haven't used it in a while...
     
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Stock recovery. Just reboot the phone. No worries.
     
  5. clintock
    Offline

    clintock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed this rom but it doesn't work with tether me. Want to go back with old rom but keep getting "E: can't open /cache/recovery/command " And there is no back up and restore option in recovery mode. How will I restore old rom?
     
  6. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    If there is no backup/restore than you are probably still booting into factory recovery using the home key not clockwork recovery. Use the droid x bootstrapper app from the market and boot into clockwork recovery. Also drod includes the free 3g mobile hotspot app and for wired tether check the rubix folder on your sd card for the read me file. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2011
  7. clintock
    Offline

    clintock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have rom manager downloaded but it fails to work also

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Please explain "fails to work". :)
     
  9. clintock
    Offline

    clintock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I select install rom from sd card it will reboot but my old rom will not be installed.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  10. clintock
    Offline

    clintock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even when I use rom manager to reboot into recovery it still doesn't the option to restore

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    You have to have bootstrapper installed and functional, otherwise you really can't do squat on an X when it comes to ROMs.

    Depending on how messed up your phone is you may need to SBF and start over.
     
  12. clintock
    Offline

    clintock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thnx!! For some reason I had to restore bootstrapper. Thnx again for your help!!

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Glad it's working for you. :)