Did FRG83G Install Correctly?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jnd121, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. jnd121

    jnd121 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was notified this morning to install the update. I accepted it and it rebooted, but I never saw the install screen. When it started back up it still says FRG83D. The phone also says it is now up yup date and no longer shows the update. I am completely stock.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. sympleman

    sympleman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    olathe,KS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine 2

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me Three!

    Same thing happened to me...

    I plugged it into the power cable prior to hitting update. It said it was going to reboot then update. It didn't. And I'm not sure it even rebooted (really) because it came up awfully quickly.

    This is a first... never had an update actually mess up on me and I've had the phone long enough to go thru three of them.

    From:

    http://support.vzw.com/how_to_use/droid_upgrade.html
    (the only caveat being I sure as heck didn't get the "error" screen they mention, and I'm still waiting to be re-prompted!)


    If the system update fails to install you will get the following error screen. However, this only means the software did not install properly. Remove and re-insert the battery and power the device back on. The device will power back on with original software and will prompt you once again to install the system update.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  4. PainProphet

    PainProphet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me Four, had me reboot, came up normally, when i try to go into recovery, get the exclamation/triangle/droid picture, ahh well...
     
  5. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well at least darn thing told you that the install failed...
     
  6. PainProphet

    PainProphet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, it never told me, I'm in the same boat as you guys. I had just gone into recovery mode or whatever by holding down the "x" and the power button and it came up to that picture. It's always something with this bloody updates it seems.
     
  7. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0

    Right... somehow missed that part. Just like you said... mine is in precisely the same boat.
     
  8. WildThing

    WildThing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant get into recovery after OTA

    I used SPRecovery method a while back.. I know the OTA updates won't install so I allow them. However, since this update happend earlier today I can't boot into recovery (using 'x'). Anybody else having issues like this ??
     
  9. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup... mine won't boot into recovery... and I'm completely stock. I spent a fair amount of time with verizon tech support and came to no conclusion. I'm not sure how much faith to have in them because I got some conflicting data... first they said I wasn't showing any updates since march 2010, then after a bunch of gyrations (*28... and so forth) their info shows I updated today but I still can't boot into recovery and it still shows FRG83D... I can't believe such a puny update (550 KB!) could cause such a mess, when 2.1, 2.2, and 2.2.1 updates went without a hitch.
     
  10. jnd121

    jnd121 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can boot into recovery. What if I choose the option to apply update.zip?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. metsnfins

    metsnfins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im confused too
     
  12. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you happen to have the right update.zip on your sdcard root, you can use that to apply the update. jntDroid snagged the file and has a link to it. See this thread:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-general-discussions/133146-frg83g-official-ota-patch.html.

    Turns out when I said I could not boot into recovery my ignorance was showing. I was able to get into recovery and apply the patch pointed at by jntDroid's post.
     
  13. PainProphet

    PainProphet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep this works, go here.
     
  14. WildThing

    WildThing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cause and Solution Found


    I downloaded the OTA update zip file, and after some investigation I found that it (can on odd occasions) cause the recovery image (stock, SPRecovery, etc.) to become corrupted. This is why neither the OTA can complete or booting into recovery.

    I just copied the FRG83G update file to the sdcard as update.zip then reinstalled SPRecovery. Installed the update.zip from the SD Card and *poof*.. I got the 83G installed. Keep in mind that this process wipes out the SPRecovery again, so if you want root or just SPRecovery, you'll have to reinstall that again.

    Now, I'm going to look into making a 83G update that won't kill SPRecovery or root.
     
  15. PowerPlayGraphix

    PowerPlayGraphix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ever since this update installed I can't update any other apps. They all say "install error: install failed" when they try to update. Anyone else having this problem?