Dialer question

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by ddodge68, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. ddodge68
    Offline

    ddodge68 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Iowa
    I have a noob question. I have installed a few ROMs on my phone. I've noticed that some have the phone dialer that will recognize the letters, or numbers when dialing, so if I wanted to call Joe I could simply start dialing 5, 6, 3, and Joe would appear. And some ROMs (like Rubix) do not. Is this a Blur thing? This is one of the very few things that would change about this ROM. But I love the speed, so don't think I will be switching anytime soon...

    Thanks.....
  2. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    That's blur.... the ones that do that use the blur phone.apk, the ones that don't use aosp phone.apk

    Sent from my Fissioned D2G
  3. ddodge68
    Offline

    ddodge68 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Iowa
    And I assume that there is not just a file that I can add to the "Blurless" Rubix, to add this phone dialer in???
  4. jacko1
    Offline

    jacko1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    get dialer one from the market place its free works great that's the only thing I miss from blurr
  5. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    If I remember right you can just pull the phone.apk off a blur rom and replace the blurless one with it. Would have to go in, delete the apk, move the blur one in, the install it.

    Sent from my Fissioned D2G
  6. drod2169
    Offline

    drod2169 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope.

    Doesn't work, due to the framework modifications for aosp phone instead of blur.
  7. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Eh I was wrong.... it happens occasionally lol. Thanks for correcting me.

    Sent from my Fissioned D2G