Dialer One Best dialer replacement app

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by bossofindy, May 18, 2010.

  1. bossofindy
    Offline

    bossofindy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I havent seen this app posted but I've seen questions about contacts and dialer apps. In my opinion this should've been the the stock dialer. The best feature is the speed dial, assign contacts to numbers. Dialer One check it out in the market
  2. sparty569
    Offline

    sparty569 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    +1...I made it default as soon as i could search for names by typing on the keypad.
  3. Spartan
    Offline

    Spartan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    Appreciate the post to this. This was one of the big features I really missed about my BB. So much quicker than scrolling thru contacts to get a number. I have been using it all day and love it.
  4. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nice, thanks. I was looking through all the alternate dialers out there but this is the one... and free, too.

    Mainly, I missed having speed dials by long pressing numbers. With this, you get that feature back.
  5. yamaha83
    Offline

    yamaha83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can search for contacts by name in the stock dialer... just hit the looking glass. You can even do it from the home screen. That dialer was OK but it wouldn't bring in my Facebook pics and now that I'm on DE theme I want my dialer to match and I don't see any features it has that stock doesn't...
  6. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It has speed dial, so you can set keypad digits to dial selected contacts just by long-pressing the digit. That's what I missed the most from previous phones. I personally could care less about any Facebook integration but I see people complaining about that in the comments too. You can just import pics for each contact into the phone's native phonebook, and that's really easy to do from gmail on a PC. Why is it so important to get them directly from FB?

    Also, you can customize the exact view you want each time it starts. That's also something the default dialer doesn't do. So I can have "favorites" and the dialpad on the screen every time it starts. Perfect.

    You can also set the theme (background black, white, or wallpaper) and change the font colors, but I guess what you're saying is you don't get your modified fonts.
  7. gunit
    Offline

    gunit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dumb question but how do you set the speed dial? It says in the context menu of the contact, but where is that?

    Great program so far!
  8. ice456789
    Offline

    ice456789 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Long press on a contact in the app. It comes up with a menu, select "Speed Dial".


    Thanks for this thread. Didn't know this program existed but it is phenomenal.
  9. Wolfee57
    Offline

    Wolfee57 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet, this is the one thing I missed from BB. Even my Palm Treo had a better dialer then stock Droid! :woot:
  10. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also look at aContacts by the same dev...has a few more features, actually, but it can't see exchange contacts, only google, so I wasn't able to use it.

    Either is excellent...

    EDIT: Oops...was looking at aContacts again and it indicates not fully compatible w/2.0...so Dialer One is the one for those w/newer android version.
  11. lomaloalou
    Offline

    lomaloalou New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was taking my Droid back! THanks...just an FYI...your contact list as you HOLD the name will not give you the speed dial option if you are in "CALL LOG". I used Favorites---since they were the calls made the most!
    :motdroidhoriz:
  12. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Gesture search will bring up contacts as well ...
  13. dpbklyn
    Offline

    dpbklyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dialer One Problem?

    Hello all, and thank you in advance...

    I have been using Dialer One on my Orig. Droid then when I switched to a Droid X, I noticed a problem...

    When I end a call, The phone moves automatically puts me to the contacts list in the standard Dialer (not Dialer One). I have Dialer One set as my default dialer.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you,

    dp
  14. thehulk20
    Offline

    thehulk20 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nawlins
    What r the steps to make dialer one the default dialer?
  15. 3dutch1999
    Offline

    3dutch1999 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know of a dialer app that shows date and time in call history?
  16. takephone
    Offline

    takephone New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    aTAKEphONE does.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks.
  17. midgetgrimm
    Offline

    midgetgrimm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Is this DialerOne? It doesn't look it, if it's not, which dialer do you use? I like yours, clear, I like the scrollable contact dock.
  18. tnronin
    Online

    tnronin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To bad atakephone isn't free to try.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  19. takephone
    Offline

    takephone New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    No - this is not Dialer One - it's called aTAKEphONE. You can get it at the Android Market, and at my own website: ShSh Software

    Thanks
  20. takephone
    Offline

    takephone New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    You can get a full featured 30 days free trial at my own website:
    ShSh Software

    Any comments/requests are most welcome.

    Thanks
Search tags for this page
android and phone dialer replacements
,
android dialer app replacement
,

android dialer replacement

,
android phone dialer replacement
,
android replacement dialer
,

best android dialer replacement

,
best android phone dialer
,
best android phone dialer app
,
best dialer app
,
best droid dialer app
,
dialer one speed dial
,
dialer replacement for android
,
droid forums best phone dialer
,
replace dialer android
,
replace motorola ultra stock dialer