Dialer not working - rooted phone

mystical

Reaction score
Followed instructions on how to root phone. Have frozen some apps in Titanium Backup Pro. For some reason my dialer is not working, but only in working part :

When I hit the Dialer button, these are the tabs that pop up: Dialer, Recent, Contacts and Favorites. Dialer works fine, as does Recent. However, when I hit the Contacts or Favorites button, the next screen appears, and then this is what happens: I try to choose someone to call and then the phone takes me right back out to the home screen.

The only thing I can figure is that I am somehow missing part of the application for the dialer, or the dialer needs to use an app that I froze. Does anyone know what all the dialer needs in order to work properly?

BTW, this is my first attempt at rooting a phone, so a little kindness, pretty pretty please. I do like to tinker with my toys, but not sure what I did to mess this one up.

I am not using any ROMS, but I am using ADW Launcher EX, if that helps.

Thanks for any help.:biggrin:

Savagerun

Reaction score
Yeah you definitely froze something you need. I would just start unfreezing stuff till the dialer works. Start with the apps in red.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums

Savagerun

Reaction score
Once you get it figured out i would recommend you make a nandroid backup of your phone. It can come in handy if you mess something up and can't fix it then you could always restore that backup and be right where you started at. Im assuming you have a Droidx? If so you can use droid2 bootstrap to make a nandroid backup. You could also consider installing a custom rom which already have the bloat removed.

OP
M

mystical

Reaction score