Dial Number but can't hear caller

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by bigdog9586, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. bigdog9586
    Offline

    bigdog9586 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm still having a problem every once in a while (maybe once a month) where I make a call and person answers but I don't hear it ring nor can I hear the person answer. Have to reboot the phone to get it working. I remember this being an issue about 6 months or so ago but I wonder if this is still a problem or am I the only one still having it. Or has someone found a fix?
  2. hgrimberg
    Offline

    hgrimberg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happens the same to me. I think it is the lack of GPU acceleration Froyo has. Up until google doesn't realize about this issue and fix it, then an iphone will be much better and more reliable.
  3. Casen
    Offline

    Casen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing happened to me two days ago, running Liberty 2.0.1. But its not exclusive to liberty, as it has happened randomly before...
  4. bigdog9586
    Offline

    bigdog9586 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have to think it is a software issue as it used to happen to me many times a week but as the software got updated it has happened less and less and I think today was the first time since the last update.
  5. Goldwinger
    Offline

    Goldwinger New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canton, GA
    Well I'm glad it's not just me (sorry guys) but I'm thinking it might be the phone itself. If it was software, wouldn't anyone using Android have this problem also?

    Now that I think about it, maybe not........could be a DX specific driver or module. CRAP! :icon_evil: I just want a phone that works all the time when I need it. That's why I keep looking for the perfect ROM. Closest I've come is Darkslide and Liberty.

    Oh well, If anyone gets an answer, please post it up. In the mean time I'll just keep doing a *22899 every now and then and make sure I don't change too much from what I have now.
  6. qman66
    Offline

    qman66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    this has happened on every rom ive ever had. a reboot fixes it. redialing doesnt work.
  7. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Happens to me as well . Like twice or three times a week I would say

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. rovagu22
    Offline

    rovagu22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    has happened to me a couple of time in the last month or so...battery pull fixes it. Verizon tech support had nothing to say about it. They said it was because i had the lookout app installed, i deleted it and it happened two days after.
  9. Calliemama
    Offline

    Calliemama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happened to me 3 months after I got the DX. Eventually had to send back to Verizon for a replacement. I definitely think it's the phone itself.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. hgrimberg
    Offline

    hgrimberg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think its Android, and again, the lack of GPU acceleration. Same thing used to happen with Windows Mobile. WP7 and IOS has it whereas Android still doesn't. Shame on google. If Android would have not been developed by google, it was probably gone by now because of doing the acceleration thing using the CPU instead of the GPU. They say that they do this so that android can run in every phone and not just in the very high end ones like the Droid 2. What a policy!!!
  11. BoJatey
    Offline

    BoJatey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same problem here. Thought it was a Liberty 2.0.1 problem but now I know its not. Yep, works after reboot but I also pulled the battery and I don't know what that would fix but it hasn't dropped since.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

. my droid dna rings but i cannot hear the caller

,

android rings but cannot hear anything

,

can't hear on droid with certain number

,

cat hear the phone ring when dialing on droid x

,

i cannot hear the ring after i dial number

,

on my galaxy s3 phone when i dial a number i dont hear the r

,

when i call a number i dont hear a ring why