Dial Like Windows Mobile?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by LtKen, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For about 20 minutes in my life I owned a Samsung Omnia, and despite how much I hated it, I liked the contact and phone manager.

    When punching numbers into the keypad, it would present the user with contacts. For example:

    I could start spelling the name of the contact I wanted, or dial the number -- 833 would show both the number 833, but also any of my contacts with the containing the same character pattern....

    I dont know if this makes any sense, but I miss this feature, and it would be really nice to call Mike by typing 6453 into the phone keypad.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. mcinvaille
    Offline

    mcinvaille New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    Number Entry for calls

    I agree to the convenience of this capability. My BB did the same thing and I miss that. I do like the shortcuts that you can make for texting and dialing but i totally dislike the call log duplicating numbers after dialing them and the issue you mention. Maybe an app in the future (or currently; I couldn't find one however).
  3. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad someone understands what I'm talking about, despite my awful description.

    Any coders want to take this up? I dont have the time right now to delve into Android development. Anyone working for Google want to read this post and do it for us?
  4. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    That was a convenient feature of WM ROMs at first buy I've since got away from it. 90% of the time I am calling someone with a shortcut on my screen. Besides, after years of using auto-dialers and Voice Dial I don't really know anyone's number (but WM would recognize the keypads as letters so it would look up the names too). But still I find the contacts manager (which is similar to the one we cooked into our WM ROM) is faster than typing the letters of the name anyway. But it would be cool for someone to implement just to make it easier on future WM users.
  5. techguru
    Offline

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The feature on WinMo is called Smartdial. There is an app that adds this to Android, unfortunately, it is not yet working on the Droid

    Easy Dial Pro for Android :: Tools Application - AndroidZoom.com

    However, if you open the contacts and then hit your search button and just start entering the first or last name, it will find the person within a few keystrokes.

    The only thing I liked better about smart dial is that it also searched the numbers at the same time, so if I was dialing a number, and wasn't sure if the person was in my contact list, it would find them if they were.

    Alan
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Is there an app that condenses your call log? So that entries in and out and multiple in a row (if you are calling a number and they are busy for example) don't all show up as extra calls?
  7. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  8. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I had an omnia too and this is the only thing I do miss.
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Link to the thread?
  10. bdbraaten
    Offline

    bdbraaten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Frozen Wasteland that is Minnesota USA
    The dialer on the Droid Eris does this as well. To bad we can't copy that dialer program over to the Droid
  11. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Who says it cant be done? Does anyone have access to an Eris they can root?
  12. jrocketdroid
    Offline

    jrocketdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
  13. strobez395
    Offline

    strobez395 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I mean they have this function for text messaging so if you could get that code it would be easy to transfer over to dialing one would assume.
  14. bdbraaten
    Offline

    bdbraaten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Frozen Wasteland that is Minnesota USA
    I just found the free app "Dialer One" in the market that seems to do most of what was discussed in this thread.

    Only been using it for a couple calls but no problems so far.
  15. Sal R.
    Offline

    Sal R. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nubdial

    Good stuff and matches the Droid nicely.
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010