device administrators?

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by atticus, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. atticus

    atticus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    In Froyo under settings, it says device administrators, but when I go to under it ...nothings there and there's no menu options. What's the deal with this option?
     
  2. dandaman11223344

    dandaman11223344 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been wondering the same thing
     
  3. lexxon

    lexxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pretty sure it's for Google Apps domain accounts. I have mine as a secondary account and don't see any admins, but in the Apps dashboard it mentions being able to remote wipe phones, forcing passwords, etc. I imagine these things will become available if the phone is tied to the account as its primary.

    (I'm a Google Apps admin for a school district, but pretty new at it)
     
  4. mcbinder

    mcbinder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my company Exchange as a secondary email (private email is primary) and they just pushed a policy so that they have the ability to wipe my phone remotely. Is it really the whole phone or just the Exchange data? How do you see the admins? How can I disable this?

    mcb
     
  5. smcpherson

    smcpherson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    advice administrators?

    My company exchange account IS NOT my primary on my droid, my personal e-mail is and I am still getting the message that I must activate device administrator. Now I cannot get into my company e-mail at all. I am really leary of giving Verizon (big brother) any more access to my phone. What should I do? Is there a way around it? My IT guy says they have not done anything on our side to cause this.
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have wave secure on my phone and it shows up here with a box to check. dont quite understand what it does but ill try and find it

    edit: found this
    6. WaveSecure Device Admin – This is for Android OS 2.2 (Froyo) only. Once WaveSecure is enabled as a device administrator, the Android system gives more permission to improve the security of the phone. Phones running OS 1.6 to 2.1 are unable trap the HOME key and the lock screen can be bypassed temporary before it comes back on.

    ________

    With Android 2.2 (Froyo) update, Android introduced a new concept where you can select an application as a "device administrator". Like any other application WaveSecure can also be selected as a device admin.


    This new concept will prevent device admin software from accidental un-installation. When someone tries to uninstall ‘device administrator software’ they'll get an error saying "Uninstallation not successful"


    Un-installation of WaveSecure on Android 2.2 (Froyo):



    Removal of WaveSecure installed as a "device administrator’ can only be in done after the removal of WaveSecure from Device Admin list. To remove WaveSecure from the Device Admin list go into ‘Settings’ then ‘Location & Security’ then Select ‘device administrators’ and then uncheck WaveSecure.
     
  7. smcpherson

    smcpherson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reply

    Thanks! I'll try it Will it make the meesage go away that I need to activate device administrator.