Developers, please help with voice dial and Bluetooth

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by xkwwwx, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. xkwwwx

    xkwwwx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    chicago burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who will be our saviour?
     
  2. gtjokester

    gtjokester New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally I'd like to see the Bluetooth button activate the voice search cause it call start a call and so much more
     
  3. AcidBurn

    AcidBurn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mansfield,Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like that idea too. What would need to be done to accomplish this??
     
  4. theascended

    theascended Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'd probably have to disable/replace the audio gateway profile built into the OS. I didn't find any way in the SDK (granted it was only a quick look) to intercept commands from a bluetooth service.
     
  5. Erron

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with ascended. I haven't seen an easy way to make this work. May need to be rooted and built into a custom os. Or....an update.
     
  6. gtjokester

    gtjokester New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well hopefully now that its probably one of the biggest complaints maybe google will finally address it.. I've been using android pretty close to right after it came out so even after they get it working I'll probably forget to use it.. lol..
     
  7. elizabeth

    elizabeth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it true the droid will not allow me to call and receive calls through my fm radio handsfree in my new nissan altima
     
  8. gtjokester

    gtjokester New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    it will send and recieve calls over bluetooth.. the problem is if you need to be able to activate voice dialing from a bluetooth headset or device. So it depends on how your handsfree works in the fm radio. If the bluetooth system needs to access the voicedial function on the phone this won't work.. the rest will work.. As much complaint as there has been I hope to see it worked out in the next update.. verizon already has a list of fixes scheduled to be pushed out Dec. 11th and then another update scheduled for Jan. 22nd..
     
  9. Nick177th

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the list of issues scheduled to be addressed in the first update, this ain't on of them. You don't have to be hands free driving where I am now but, I'm so used to it now. I hate handling my phone while driving now.
     
  10. revwillie

    revwillie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been wanting this capability since I got my G1. My last phone was a MotoMING A1200 and there was a killer Voice Response system that ran in the Motorola EZX platform. I guess I'm dense, but I thought it would be easy enough to daisy chain Goog-411's voice response with Google Contacts and the built-in Android Voice dialer. I mean, look at the "navigate to" voice search feature that is in the new Google Navigation app. If they can get that working smoothly, why is the BT button on my hands-free still triggering a redial?

    A Killer App if ever I could think of one.
     
  11. Nick177th

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the number of responses I see to this post, i guess this is not that big of a thing to most. This is the ONLY big thing to me. The other "imperfections" are minor to me. I REALLY want them to fix this. I assign personal ringtones to everyone who is even remotely important to me so I won't have to look at my phone while driving. If you're on default ringtone, you'll get a call back whenever I get a chance. I realy really dislike that I have to pick up my phone to make a call while driving. Motorola, Verizon, please fix this.
     
  12. cookieluvr

    cookieluvr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would say this could be the killer for me to. I love all the other features and would hate to have to give it back but it is first a foremost a phone and being able to voice dial is imperative to me. Please, someone fix this!!! I have 3 weeks more before I will have to return it if there is no fix.
     
  13. revwillie

    revwillie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. And the fact that motorola's EZX devs wrote a really slick Voice Response system already bugs me. If Moto opened the source code for the EZX VR, I bet it would take less than a week for the community to port the code from that flavor of linux to Android.

    Every once in a while I like to put my SIM card in my A1200 and enjoy REAL bluetooth functionality for a day.
     
  14. k9nikita

    k9nikita Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I totally agree!! How can a phone this advanced not have bluetooth control from the headset? I thought this was going to be fixed with the last update......? I can only hope that the devs. could get this fixed.
     
  15. revwillie

    revwillie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Waiting to see what the car home or home car suite in the nexus one can do.:reddroid:
     
Search tags for this page
bluetooth voice dial android app
,
get rid of voice dialer on samsung android
,

how to turn off voice dialer on samsung intercept

,
samsung galaxy s3 and bluetooth in my 2009 nissan altima
,

samsung intercept disable voice dialer

,
speed dial in altima bluetooth
,
voice dialer turn off samsung