1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Desktop mode - Dolphin and Miren

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by eebvending, May 24, 2011.

  1. eebvending
    Offline

    eebvending Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ok, I'm very frustrated right now.

    I have Dolphin HD and Miren both set to desktop. Both insist on going to the mobile version.

    I don't remember having this much trouble with the D1.

    Is there a phone setting I'm forgetting about that needs changed so the setting for the browsers won't be overridden?

    Thanks.
  2. eebvending
    Offline

    eebvending Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Just tried Skyfire...no change. Set for desktop, switches to mobile site anyway. Is nobody else having this problem?
  3. eebvending
    Offline

    eebvending Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Bump.

    Anyone else with a DX2 having this problem with browsers?
  4. eebvending
    Offline

    eebvending Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    OK, update...maybe someone can chime in...Bueller? Bueller?


    As it turns out most sites are fine, it's only 2 particular sites that I frequent that overrides desktop mode every time. On my D1 using Dolphin I had zero problems displaying the full site. The mobile versions of these 2 sites suck pretty bad.

    What can I do to stop these sites from overriding the browser settings?

    It's happening with: Dolphin, Dolphin HD, Miren & Skyfire
  5. WildVke
    Offline

    WildVke New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have that problem with facebook mobile always wanting to load. I just use about:debug in the browser. Just open Google, go to the search bar and type about:debug , then scroll down to settings, look for UAString, click it, then click on desktop. Is you close the browser you have to do it again. Sometimes I have to do it a couple of times for some reason. I have a reply on it in my threads if you need to come back and refresh.
    I think that's it but, I did just get off a12 he shift. You might want to check my thread to make sure I haven't forgot something.... ;)
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. rushmore
    Offline

    rushmore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This issue is exactly why I was searching the forums today. Though my Incredible has no issues like this, I can not go to desktop version of Flash sites and automatically relocated to mobile site versions.

    1. I have tried Dolphin HD, Mini, Xscope, Skyfire and set them to desktop mode
    2. Changed the UA string in the stock browser to desk top mode.

    Nothing works. Oddly, it did briefly work the first day I had the issue. All I did then to get it to work was set Dolphin HD as default, but now is does not matter. The only thing that changed was updating to Flash 10.3, but my Incredible had Flash 10.3 and has no issues going to Flash sites and not getting relocated.

    I love like the DX2 a LOT, but this is getting almost return-level worthy. It seems something in the DX2 firmware is causing this, since my Droid 1 also has no issues with being forced to mobile Flash sites.

    Southpark Studios is one of the few sites that does not force a mobile version. Almost all other sites and even adult sites (the few I checked) force to mobile versions.
    Last edited: May 29, 2011
  7. masters
    Offline

    masters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    94565
    I was asking the same thing about the Stock Browser.. I can't even find how to change the UAgent in the Stock browser..

    In my D1 Cyanogen it was right in the settings.

    Uh huh.. the "FEW" ... d=-)
    Last edited: May 29, 2011
  8. rushmore
    Offline

    rushmore New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Type "about:debug" in the nav window and press enter.
  9. masters
    Offline

    masters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    94565

    That be what I was looking for.. Didn't remember about:debug , but knew there was a way to get to it... Thank you..
Search tags for this page
android dolphine desktop view
,
desktop mode dolphin browser
,
dolphin browser desktop
,

dolphin browser desktop mode

,
dolphin browser ua string in desktop mode
,
dolphin desktop
,

dolphin desktop mode

,
how to do desktop version on dolphin
,
how to force desktop sites on dolphin browser
,
how to get desktop site on miren browser
,
how to set desktop mode dolphin browser
,
how to switch from mobile version to desktop version for sou
,
miren desktop
,
use desktop mode or android dolphin
,
websites overriding desktop mode