Demanding action by Motorolo

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by thezooman, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. thezooman

    thezooman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the life of my I cannot figure out why they accepted arrangements with Amazon, Verizon, Skype to have their apps simply drain the life out of our batteries. Not giving the users the capabilities to delete applications on phones that we purchased is blackmailing us so we purchase the extended battery. Is anoyone else as frustrated by this as I am? Yeah yeah I can root the phone and do so and so - but hey, I paid good money for this phone and I want the manufacturer - Motorola - to respond to consumer outbursts by coming up with a solution.
    All in favor say Yes and I'll keep on running tab of how many of us demand action by Motorola.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well, you see the problem here is you don't understand how your phone works. Running apps in the background does not drain the life out of the battery, if that were true you'd see it in your battery usage, if you know where that is at on your Pro.

    Basically while the apps may show as being active they are more or less just sleeping and ready to go to work. They aren't actually drain battery from your phone. Your biggest drain on the battery is the display, at least it should be. Also if this phone is new you may be playing with it more then normal and there is nothing wrong with that.

    Truth is battery life for power users is short, and you should either invest in another battery, extended battery, and possibly a car charger. But complaining about apps running in the background, that just has nothing to do with it. So check out ebay and Amazon and see what they can offer you. For my D2 I have two extra batteries, on D2 wall chargers and the other battery I keep in my Droid 1 so it's charged most of the time too. Look at purchasing a cradle and a charger as well to put your D2 on your desk when you are not using it.
     
  3. dhr239

    dhr239 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue. Yes, keep up the pressure.
     
  4. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uh, uhm, mkay ........

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  5. adsfa34

    adsfa34 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally, the truth! The Android system is VERY good at multi-tasking (part of the reason it's actually counter-productive to use a task killer) so your "bloatware" isn't taking up resources or using battery. There are a lot of things that will use your battery much, much more. Continuously checking your phone (waking and sleeping); checking email (refreshing each time you check it); widgets with fast auto-refresh settings; exploring (uses screen); running CPU-intensive tasks (Pandora, Google Earth, Blockbuster, etc.)...the list goes on...

    Now, separately, I think it was a bad call to make those "bloatware" apps SYSTEM apps (in the /system/app directory). I think it would've been smarter to put them in /data/app so they could be uninstalled if the user absolutely wanted. It does seem unreasonable to have to void your warranty (root) to remove an app that you don't want. And especially on MOTOBLUR, you risk creating near-fatal instabilities if you remove certain system apps. After all, having control over what apps to run should be our call.

    Would SOME users uninstall the bloatware? Probably. Would it significantly impede the distribution of the apps Blockbuster, Skype, CityID are trying to push? A little. Would it be a significant loss to Verizon or Motorola to lose the cash that those companies give them for including these apps? A little. And would "distribution for distribution's sake" be of any real value to Blockbuster, Skype, etc (if they're not even using the app, and since they can't remove it feel negatively toward it)? NOPE! But the real question would be if it is more costly to lose out on the extra cash from Skype, Blockbuster, etc. or to lose a phone sale completely to HTC or Samsung...I think that's the better business decision...
     
  6. Frow

    Frow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ames IA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    my biggest issue is with the phone searching for gsm and making the phones display running until i click the box. i called verizon and they told me to shut it off, runs threw my battery in few hours. you would think the display time out would take affect but it doesnt. or an option to disable the searching for gsm option
     
  7. StingRay

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I understand your issue correctly, you can go to Settings>Wireless & Networks>Mobile Networks>Network and select "CDMA" to eliminate any unnecessary GSM searching....
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I am sure the culprit in this case is Verizon and not Motorola - Moto makes a great product and once the deal is done with Verizon to carry the product then VZW chooses what "bloatware" applications the device should run contingent on what company or service they are sponsoring - it is all about money, just be glad there is a way around it
     
  9. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    BTW - this thread makes me hungry for Rolo's :D

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Frow

    Frow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ames IA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    i have changed that. when you change that you get at option to turn on global lol, no matter what choice you go with you get the pop up menu.
     
  11. StingRay

    StingRay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've currently got mine set to "CDMA" and "Home" rather than "Automatic" to further help battery.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using Tapatalk
     
  12. bwhite757

    bwhite757 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never seen this Pop-Up you speak of and I have mine set to CDMA and Home only.

    Next, as stated above, the bloat isn't draining anything and if you really don't like it that much its really easy to remove (root). I understand this voids the warranty but what's the point of having an Android phone if you're not going to be the SuperUser of it? In all honesty this is big reds doing not Moto's. Same was the case with Samsung's Galaxy S line. All of their phones had Google search on every other carrier then when it came to VZW, they were forced to use Bing. Luckily VZW didn't continue the trend.

    Point the blame in the right direction, or just enjoy your phone and deal with the couple extra icons.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

google earth running in background