Delete or rename?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by 1android, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. 1android

    1android Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using Root explorer to stop that bloatware. Do I want to simply rename them or can I staight up delete them? If I need to rename them, why would I not want to delete?
     
  2. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Renaming allows you to go back to stock if you need to, or if you mess something up, it makes it easier to go back. But if you have a nandroid backup, you don't really need to worry.

    Sent from the hand of zeus!
     
  3. 1android

    1android Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what about the apps such as VZW Gold, slacker radio, blockbuster, city ID....etc can I delete those? I have NO use for any of those.
     
  4. that.one.yellow.kid

    that.one.yellow.kid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. 1android

    1android Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no I saw that. my main reason for my post was to figure out if the apps such as blockbuster and VZN Golf could be simply deleted instead of renamed. no worries, I just renamed them all and noticed that it did what I needed. This way if for whatever reason, I can go back and open them again.
     
  6. thelopenator

    thelopenator Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah man just rename them. its the same stuff as long as u have the extra memory on your phone which you should cause it comes with 40 gigs.
     
  7. AthDruid

    AthDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Explorer, but i can't rename the kindle or blockbuster .apk i haven't tried any of the others, but i get the "cannot be renamed because the file system is read only"

    do i need to buy the Root Explorer app? or are there other free apps that are able to do this?
     
  8. jeffly777

    jeffly777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you need root access and something that can remount the system folder as read/write. If you're rooted you can use adb, but root explorer is WAY easier. They can't be renamed or removed if you're not rooted.

    Honestly, that's why I rooted this phone in the first place. Man, try and party by the rules and verizon screws you with bloatware.

    Thunderstruck
     
  9. AthDruid

    AthDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have root access. I've installed the SU app, ROM Manager, and Titanium Backup.

    I didn't download RE, i was hoping there was a free app that would do the same thing. but if not, 5 bucks isn't a big price to pay.
     
  10. jeffly777

    jeffly777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not, and root explorer is well worth it. Just navigate to the system/app/ folder, hit "mount r/w" in the corner, and go.

    Thunderstruck
     
  11. jeffly777

    jeffly777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, titanium will freeze or delete them if you want to try that before buying root explorer.

    Thunderstruck
     
  12. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Wouldn't freezing them have the same effect. If u delete them I read that it might cause problems when updating in the future.
    I'm thinking about freezing them through titanium. Or just installing a rom that removes the bloat

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
can you rename songs on a htc one x
,
how to rename a song on htc
,
how to rename a song on htc inspire
,
how to rename music files on htc insoire
,
how to rename music on android
,
how to rename music on htc inspire
,

how to rename songs on htc inspire

,
how to rename songs on htc inspure
,
how to rename songs on htc one
,
htc inspire rename music