Dear Bugless Beast. Ill be back in the winter

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by o Fi1thy, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. o Fi1thy
    Offline

    o Fi1thy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meeeeechigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I the only one that is getting reboots 5-10 times a day from it getting to hot? The phone doesnt feel that warm and with other roms it has gotten hotter. But so far this BB is the only one to reboot this much. Is it Petes CPU scrpit? Ive tried using SetCPU to throttle it down and set the failsafe to a high temp. Yet it still reboots it self very often. Its a shame too because I absolutely love BB.4 I got over an 1700 benchmark with it.
     
  2. JonDenver'sCopilot
    Offline

    JonDenver'sCopilot Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue. I am gonna stick with BB till CM or DM release their 2.2 ROM and then make the switch. But you are right...multiple shutdowns and reboots a day is annoying. The thing about it that bothers me most is the BB followers....most will patronize you for bringing something like this up and say its user error. Sorry to say this guys, I only run into this on Pete's 2.2 ROMs and I have been hacking my phone for far too long to accept the stupid answer that I loaded it wrong, especially since I've followed every little "trick" for a clean install.
     
  3. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you wipe when you installed, if yes then it is probably your kernal not the rom, unless your running stock kernal of course
     
  4. mike919
    Offline

    mike919 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Ratings:
    +0

    No one is going to chastize you for bringing this up, but there ARE notes in the OP that say not all phones will be able to handle higher speeds on THIS ROM... I'm not trying to sound mean, but did you have the reboots even on Pete's STOCK 800Mhz? how many kernels have you tried? which ones?
     
  5. o Fi1thy
    Offline

    o Fi1thy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meeeeechigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I am running the stock kernal.

    I know everybodys phone is different and whatnot. But like I said my droid has gotten way hotter on other roms without the reboots. It doesnt even feel that hot to be honest. I was just on the phone with my girlfriend who has an iPhone. (yeah yeah i know) We were talking for about 30 seconds. all of a sudden, silence. Thinking that she must have lost service because well....its the iphone (dancedroid) Look down and a reboot. Or when I have my droid mounted to my laptop. If i try moving any files around for more than 5 minutes. Reboot. Otherwise I love everything about this rom. Its just becoming too much of an annoyance.
     
  6. JonDenver'sCopilot
    Offline

    JonDenver'sCopilot Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on Pete's stock Kernel. I Have OC'd at multiple levels 600-800MHz and always get the same results. Most of my reboots and shutdowns are when waking my phone from standby, but some happen randomly with the processor maxing out at the max OC level for no reason. I thought it was an app I was using and did a clean install and didn't load any apps and used the phone like that for a day and had the same results. I'm not saying "all" users will chastise you, but there is a large group of Pete followers who seem to think that anyone who has any problems with his work are the problem and his ROM is infallible. I've read over and over from the community that its user error and Pete's ROMs work perfectly all the time when they praise him. Don't get me wrong here, Pete is the man when it comes to this stuff, but some of his groupies drink a little too much kool-aid.
     
  7. tsitalon1
    Online

    tsitalon1 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    No problems with BB at 1ghz here.

    I do wonder if you let your phone get to hot with the other roms and damaged the cpu at all.

    Also if you have a buddy with a droid, swap batteries, maybe your's can't take a load and drops power for a sec....
     
  8. J*Bishop
    Offline

    J*Bishop Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    in your op you mention you got 1700 for a benchmark. what benchmark were you using? also, what have you set your setcpu failsafe at?
     
  9. o Fi1thy
    Offline

    o Fi1thy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meeeeechigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    To get that benchmark I actually used P3's 1200 LV kernal. I know my droid craps itself at a 1300 kernal. So I decided to max it out at 1200 for a moment and run Quadrant. Thats when I got 1700 after that I went back down. I like a mix of speed and battery life and I get that with the stock kernal. Failsafe is set at 125F Hottest Ive EVER seen it get was about 140. Pretty sure Ive seen other peoples droid get hotter than that. Just talking on the phone and mounting it shouldnt make it get to 125. Thats why i was wondering if its petes cpu scrpit.



     
  10. tsitalon1
    Online

    tsitalon1 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    well, try another battery then...couldn't hurt!
     
  11. o Fi1thy
    Offline

    o Fi1thy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meeeeechigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok....Just had another one. (Keep in mind I didnt have this problem with Kangernade) My phone is charing right beside me as I type this. I went to reply to a text. starting typing. It froze and reboot.
     
  12. tsitalon1
    Online

    tsitalon1 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I would use adb to format system, cache, and data, and then try BB.

    I believe you will need sprecovery to format using adb.
     
  13. Droids
    Offline

    Droids Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the stock kernel and have never experienced a single reboot. You can use Clockwork recovery as well, to format all the partitions, then do a clean install of BB. Be aware too, of what apps you restore, as it could be an app issue.
     
  14. mekman
    Offline

    mekman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not the rom it's the kernal. Random reboots stopped for me after V.3. However with V.3 and V.4 I was having horrid battery life and high temps. I literally went through around 14 different kernels before I finally tried P3droid's 900mhz SV kernel and voila. It's like the magic kernel for my phone running BB V.4. I'm averaging 30 hours battery life with moderate usage and temps that run between 28 to 35 degrees celcius. And no random reboots, ever.

    It could be that your phone just hates BB froyo but it is my guess that it is the kernel that your phone hates. Try them all. Give each one a days use and see how it performs. Keep trying them until you find the right one.
     
  15. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    It never hurts to go back to a ROM that was working properly, even if it is a 2.1 ROM and then update back to bugless beast v0.4. I've once had to do this coming from 2.0.1 to 2.1 to fix a different issue.