Deactivate phone for 2 weeks for global travel

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by kilton, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. kilton

    kilton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Deactivate phone for 2 weeks for global travel (Verizon)

    Hello,

    I'm going to be in Europe for a couple weeks, so I'm renting phone via the Verizon Global Travel program. Basically they send me a phone that will have connectivity over there, then I call to move my existing number to the new phone. When I get back, I move my number back and send them back the rental phone.

    I've done this a few times without issue (though this is the first time since I got a Nexus). But this time the lady on the phone said something which confused me, so I figured I'd ask here. She said she's going to send me a new SIM card so that I can reactivate my Nexus on return. She said that since it's a 4G phone, once it's deactivated for 48 hours I won't be able to reactivate with the existing SIM card -- I'll have to put a new one in.

    Does that make any sense at all?
     
    #1 kilton, Jul 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
  2. Tegamal

    Tegamal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why deactivate it at all? Would that mess with your contract (if you still have unlimited)? If it were me, I would just turn it off, pull the battery, & put it in a drawer for 14 days.
     
  3. kilton

    kilton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's deactivated because my number is moved to the rental phone.
     
  4. bfayer

    bfayer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got back from Germany and did the same thing. My understanding was the global phone was 3g so once I activated my account back to 3g the 4g sim was no good.

    They sent me a new 4g sim and I just called and reactivated when I got back.

    All went well.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. kilton

    kilton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, thanks bfayer. Glad to hear it went well. I don't understand why the SIM goes bad, but as long as the new one works I'm good. :)
     
  6. Bobalou044

    Bobalou044 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are either of you rooted?! Will deactivating your phone and getting a new sim card mess up a rooted Nexus? Will I need to bring my Nexus back to stock and then re-root when I return from overseas? I'll be traveling later this year and I had the same question.

    Thanks
     
  7. bfayer

    bfayer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My GNex is not rooted. So I can't help with that. I would not think it would matter one way or the other. When I called to activate the new sim all I had to do was give them the number and reboot my phone.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    There are apps like REDIRECT CALL for forwarding the call to your rented phone! That might work?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  9. GoBears

    GoBears Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just be cautious that a custom rom on the Nexus might not activate the new sim. Happened to me. Had to stick the sim in a spare 4G phone to activate it.
     
  10. Bobalou044

    Bobalou044 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replys. I would think a stock rom would be the same... Might have to look into renting a GMS phone for a few weeks - unless there are other ideas. :angry:
     
Search tags for this page
deactivate global phone
,
deactivate global phone verizon
,
deactivate verizon global phone
,
deactivate verizon phone
,
how to deactivate a verizon global phone
,
how to deactivate global verizon phone
,
international phones verizon rental
,
renting verizon global phone
,
verizon deactivation global phone
,

verizon global travel program