Data Usage

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by ferret57, Mar 21, 2015.

  1. ferret57

    ferret57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Trevorton, PA
    Ratings:
    +19
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G4
    Twitter:
    ferretfuzzies
    Using Wifi, why would "Gallery" use 42.0 MB of DATA in one day? No pictures transferred. This is a new phone and left all my pics on the Cloud. I called Verizon and no help there. Ideas? I also have Auto Sync turned off. I have a program on Onavo Count to try and figure this out and all it says is 98% used by "other" apps.
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,644
    Likes Received:
    6,749
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,252
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Were you texting pictures while on WiFi?
     
  3. ferret57

    ferret57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Trevorton, PA
    Ratings:
    +19
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G4
    Twitter:
    ferretfuzzies
    No, wasn't texting any pics. That's what's puzzling. And, when you use data on mms, according to Verizon, they don't count that.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    Is Google+ Photos or Google+ Uploads set to sync on your phone? Under Accounts, select Google. Select your Google Account. Go through and check to see if they are set to sync. If you just got the phone recently, it could be sync'ing.
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    I'm also wondering if you are using Picassa.
     
  6. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    Good call, I forgot about Picasa.
     
  7. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Be default Picasa is set to sync from the box.
    To disable Picasa sync go to phone settings, tap Accounts, tap Google, tap your account name at the top, tap Picasa, or others, you don't want to sync. From the box they're all set to sync.
     
  8. ferret57

    ferret57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Trevorton, PA
    Ratings:
    +19
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G4
    Twitter:
    ferretfuzzies
    No to all. Google acct not syncing and don't use Picassa (not syncing). Just during the night, DATA off it used .10 mb. Seems every so many hours and I actually have Auto sync disabled. Called Verizon, couldn't give an answer, said if you have data off (yep) shouldn't be using any. It is now actually up to 44 overnight.
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    On AT&T I used to have that happen and it was always the same time, just after midnight, and only if the phone was charging. Now I don't leave it charging over night. ;)
     
  10. ferret57

    ferret57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Trevorton, PA
    Ratings:
    +19
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G4
    Twitter:
    ferretfuzzies
    Nope, I charge mine to full charge before bed. So not charging. It's like every 2 hours. I have gone through all my apps, not many except the regular thinking just maybe there was something sat up to sync every 2 hours and can't, because data is off?
     
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    GSam battery monitor may provide more help. If data is being used, so is the battery.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ferret57

    ferret57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Trevorton, PA
    Ratings:
    +19
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G4
    Twitter:
    ferretfuzzies
    Going to check that out. Thanks leeshor. I did take notice to one thing, very strange,I had Battery Monitor pro installed and just happened to pull battery levels up and it seems it checks it every 2 hours. hmmm Uninstalled and going to try the GSam.