Data Usage Contest!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by sdrawkcabton88, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. sdrawkcabton88
    Offline

    sdrawkcabton88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since we have unlimited data, why not see how far one can push it? ;)

    Download NetCounter, a great app for keeping track of data, and report back here with your totals. It doesn't start counting until you have the app, so get on it!

    Link to app details: NetCounter v0.13.1 Application for Android | Tools
  2. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    the idea is nice, BUT on most carriers ive seen so far
    there is unlimited dataplan, BUT you will be reduced in speed on
    1/2/5GB usage.

    Speaking of my plan, if you used up 2GB you will be reduced back
    to 2G speed for the rest of the month. So that would be a killer on your idea ^^

    TIgger
  3. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    We could also test for this by doing this. Speed tests at different usage levels, 1/2/5GB.

    Does the app use a lot of battery?
  4. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    no need to test, its in teh contract :D

    Tigger
  5. dualsub2006
    Offline

    dualsub2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You mean it's in the German contract? I haven't read the TOS word for word but I have never seen anything in any of my agreements that says that VZW will throttle my speed at 1, 2 and 5GB.

    I have gone over 2GB and never had any slow down at all.
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Same here with VZW....they won't throttle you but hit 5gb range a few times and I'll bet your pop up on their Radar....
  7. metalmenance
    Offline

    metalmenance Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    14gb first month
    16 1/2 gb last month
    on 1.5gb already since jan 7th
    no slow down, no calls from big v.........
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Has to be with tether....
  9. swallman
    Offline

    swallman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm on an old Alltel contract yet and I don't believe there was anything in there regarding being limited...
  10. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    monster numbers :icon_eek:
  11. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    no extra charges?
  12. rda990
    Offline

    rda990 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    +1 Has to be =/
  13. rda990
    Offline

    rda990 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germantown,MD
    Ratings:
    +2
    With VZW its unlimited...as in 1 GB or 100 GB's (Without tethering of course)
  14. metalmenance
    Offline

    metalmenance Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    tethering accounted for about 3-5gb each month
    download alot of movies from "them sites" on droid, plus ALOT of youtube, etc
Search tags for this page

data usagw on milestone x2

,

how to check data usage motorola milestone 3

,

where is data usage in milestone x2