1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Data Throttling Hack in 5.0

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by brad r, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know that the data throttling hack is supposedly built into SS 5.0, but I am wondering if it is either not enabled or not working properly. I know it's debatable whether it actually does anything, but see my results below.

    The bottom 3 are from 4.9x before I added the hack. The middle 3 are SS 4.9x after I added the hack. You can see that my download speeds basically doubled. Then the top 3 are with SS 5.0. I am pretty much back to pre-hack speeds or slower.

    [​IMG]

    I tested these speeds from the same location in my office (over 3G of course), but obviously the 5.0 tests were a month and a half later, as you can see. So that could have something to do with it.

    Is there any way to verify that the hack is in place? Anybody else seeing similar results?
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is definitely in place in 5.00 - code is commented out and/or removed
  3. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait a sec... it's there but it's commented out?
  4. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct - code is commented out - still present, but not being invoked.
  5. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^Oh so that's how you fixed the mobile networks FC? :)
  6. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, that's fine. I'm sorry if I missed this, but was it causing a problem? Is there (or will there be) a way to enable it?
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was not causing any problems - it was suggested to disable it because the thinking at the time was that Verizon was throttling (and the code seems to suggest they were).

    Checking speeds is the only way we can tell - however, because the nature of the network is that it fluctuates CONSTANTLY, there is no real way to tell if it actually was throttling or not.

    Are you asking if you can enable the throttling code again??
  8. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah. I'd like to enable the hack to see if it improves my speeds, if possible.

    I know it improved my 3g speed when I tested it in January. I mean, maybe it was coincidence, but the tests were run 30 minutes apart from the exact same location, and my speed basically doubled according to the speed test app. And now, it's back to the pre-hack speeds.
  9. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait wait...

    I think I might be misunderstanding you. The throttling code is commented out, or the code that removes the throttling is commented out? After rereading, I think you mean the latter.
  10. Sorcerer
    Offline

    Sorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Just outside of Normal
    The hack was to remove/comment out the code.
  11. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotcha. Well, maybe VZW wised up and started throttling on the server side. Or maybe I'm just unlucky. :(
  12. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would check later tonite - betting you'll see faster speeds (meaning it's JUST network bandwidth and that's it).

    An example - on my home cable connection - I can run 5 speed tests in a row, and get sometimes wildly varying results ...
  13. dvgb173
    Offline

    dvgb173 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Why are your download speeds lower than your upload speeds?
    Something doesn't seem right there.
    My download speeds are almost always twice the upload.
  14. mforrest
    Offline

    mforrest New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Download speeds

    I am curious what are "Decent" speeds and what are "Good" speeds? I saw the numbers in the OP but have no idea what they are for... KBPS or what.... and what numbers are good / decent...

    Suggestions?
Search tags for this page

data throttling hack