Data Tethering Plan- Crummy Connecction and No Help from Verizon

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by green.willow, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. green.willow

    green.willow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I purchased tethering for my phone so that I can access my Yahoo email on my computer when I am at work. (I hate typing on the Droid X.) My laptop picks up the signal, but within about 30-60 seconds, my phone signal turns itself off and of course the tethering goes with it.

    I called Support and they had me go to a web site that measures my upload and download speed. The technician said it was significantly slow. (DUH). He had me reset the whole phone- start from scratch and then had me run the tests again. No improvement. He said he was sending the problem on to second level support.

    Tonight, a call center type person called me to ask if the problem had been resolved. When I said it hadn't. She said, the technicians said it looked like it was happening when I viewed Yahoo picture. When I called bull on that (never had enough up time for a photo and I used it for Email mostly, when I did get a little consistent signal) she then said, well it could be some IP confusion with another signal in the area. By the way, I had changed the signal number/path thing after the reset.

    I've never heard of IP confusion, and suspect I was just getting the IT run=around.. Finally, they said it might be a widget or something I downloaded to my phone that was causing interference. I am beyond frustrated. Any ideas?

    My contract is up in a few weeks and I'll go to an Iphone if I can't get this resolved.
     
  2. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Check the Battery & Data Manager section of the phone. See if you have Performance mode selected.
     
  3. green.willow

    green.willow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Performance Mode is not checked. Should it be?
     
  4. jwalz

    jwalz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
  5. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Which one is checked?
     
  6. green.willow

    green.willow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They must have fixed something last night at Verizon. It was working today for the first time in three months. Thanks all of you for your interest and advice.