Data switch app

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by dominator77, May 10, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. dominator77
    Offline

    dominator77 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know of a good app that reliably can turn on and off data..also is there a good battery indicator widget? I downloaded a data switch that always seems to turn data on by itself..

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does it have to be a widget for battery? Battmonx is the best thing going for us Droid users to monitor battery because it is one of few battery monitors that actually report your battery in 1% increments rather then 10%. It places the icon with a percentage in the notification bar up top. If you must use a widget, I forget the exact name but circle battery widget, or something like that, can report 1% increments, but I say why clog up my home screen with a widget when a simple task bar icon can do the task?

    As for data, maybe try widgetsoid. It can put a widget on your home screen or in the notification curtain when you drop it down. It can allow you to turn on and off data with the tap of a button, and the same goes for Wifi,GPS, and even the flashlight(camera LEDS) although the flashlight is weak compared to TeslaLED which is super bright. The widgetsoid version is probably safe for more long term use but for short term I prefer Tesla because of its brightness.
  3. dominator77
    Offline

    dominator77 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks alot.. Im gonna try those things
  4. silverfang77
    Offline

    silverfang77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Turning on Airplane Mode does that.

    Tappin' and talkin' with Tappatalk
  5. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    But also disabled the cellular radio preventing you from making or reviving calls. Kind of defeats the purpose of the phone.
  6. u_retz
    Offline

    u_retz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed that switching data on and off does affect call reception. At times when I have data disabled people can't get me. They have free line rings (as if phone is on and registered in the network) but the phone does not ring. It does not show missed call either. This is really frustrating. Tried to play with radio in the "testing" menu but no decent solution was found.

    Data was switched on/off with Juice Defender, Widgetsoid, via Data Manager.

    Has anyone else faced similar problem?
  7. illmatic636
    Offline

    illmatic636 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +2
    I believe that the way those program work, they change your APN witch disables the data. Sometime there are issues with having the correct APN placed back. What you can do is keep a copy of your apn. There is a free app in the Market called APN back up. This will fix any data issues you may have. But you need to save your APN, to restore it at a later time if needed.

    Good luck.
  8. u_retz
    Offline

    u_retz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I understand you correct APN problems affect voice calls. The problem I have is with the voice calls, not with data connection. The phone does not respond to incoming calls, data is ok.
Search tags for this page
android app data switch
,
android data switch
,

data switch app

,
data switch app download
,
data switch app for droid x
,
data switch for android
,
timed data switch app
,
using the data switch on my droid evo
,
what does a data switch on android do
,
what does data switch do