1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Data Restrictions?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Squeak87, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I keep getting a notification in my status bar that says background data is restricted. It started today out of nowhere and its getting very annoying because it stops my apps from syncing. Could Verizon be causing this? Any help would be more than appreciated.

    (Droid Razr Maxx <<ICS .215>>)
  2. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,167
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    You could check to see if anything was changed. You'd go to Settings/Data usage. Scroll down the list & click the apps that are giving you problems. At the bottom of that apps screen will be a check box for restricting data

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
  3. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Its not a specific app but I did check anyways and to restrict background data it tells me to set a mobile data limit which I have never done. I just rebooted my Maxx so hopefully that corrected the issue. Thank you for the advice.

    (Droid Razr Maxx <<ICS .215>>)
  4. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    ::UPDATE:: I realized that I had the background data restricted in my smart actions app, even though it wasn't running it was still restricting data. I changed it to allow all data and haven't had an issue since.

    (Droid Razr Maxx <<ICS .215>>)
  5. CJM
    Online

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,167
    Likes Received:
    455
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Thanks for the update
  6. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    No problem, hopefully this helps if anyone else has a similar issue. Rebooting my phone didn't even work.

    (Droid Razr Maxx <<ICS .215>>)
  7. etbass2k
    Offline

    etbass2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    How did you get to the settings to change the data restrictions? My fiance has a Razr Maxx and uses the Smart Actions app also and is having a similar issue. Sometimes she can receive picture texts, sometimes she gets the "Background Data Restricted" message and has to click on it and "allow" the data to download. We can't seem to find where to access the "restricted data" in the Smart Actions App to change it and allow all data. Thanks for your help
  8. GotnFX
    Offline

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Let me guess that she has low battery saver or battery saver activated under smart actions...Open the smart action.. either one of the battery savers..but if she has both she is gonna want to do it twice..then under actions, you'll see adjust background data..hit that and another menu related to background data will pop up..that is where she can change to allow all the time.
  9. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I just turned off the "Restrict Data" option in Smart Actions and rebooted my phone. All was well after that.

    (Droid Razr Maxx <<JB 4.1.2>>)
Search tags for this page

background data restricted notification

,

background restriction motorola razr maxx

,

data restriction

,

data restriction app on droid bionic

,

droid 4 data restriction but phone still works

,
droid dada restriction
,
droid maxx receiving data settings
,
droid razor pop up saying backround data limites
,
how do i get data restriction on my android
,

moto x restricted access changed

,
motorola droid razr maxx background data restricted
,

razr background data restricted

,
restricted access change problem motorola droid maxx
,
solution in restricted access changed
,

why does my droid bionic keep restricting data