Data plans

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mustang125, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. mustang125

    mustang125 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    N Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ordering my new phone and have a question. Looking at Verizon website it looks like I need to get the $45. data plan because we use Microsoft Exchange for our work e-mails. Is there a way to receive my work e-mails using the $29. data plan? I am to cheep to spend the extra $15 a month if I don't need to. Is there some other benefit to the expensive data plan?
     
  2. crspang

    crspang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try it with the cheaper option first, if it doesn't work then you can either add it or return the phone. I think you'll be fine with the cheaper option though.

    Could you set up gmail (via your computer) to sync with exchange? I think you can do that and that'll eliminate the need to do it from your phone.
     
  3. cpinto

    cpinto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the $29 plans works just fine. That's what I have, and we use an Exchange server at work. Just set it up as an additional email account. You just need your domain\user name, password, and exchange server name such as (mail.xxxxx.com)

    Select Sync for this account, and your are done.
     
  4. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +24
    For a normal consumer you want the regular 29.99$ data plan, it gets you what you want, unlimited data.
     
  5. Brokn68

    Brokn68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 works for me this way too.
     
  6. garrett

    garrett Silver Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +4
    you only need to get the 45 dollar plan if you need verizon to host your exchange account.

    if you have a work/corporate exchange account all you need is the 29 dollar plan.
     
  7. LuN3yDaV3

    LuN3yDaV3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure what other email clients work for Exchange, but K-9 works for me. I had to setup my exchange account to use IMAP for it to work. Our corporate security policy doesn't allow direct access to the exchange server from wifi or 3G.
     
  8. mustang125

    mustang125 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    N Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the Info!!!
     
  9. Dawg

    Dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +0
    for some reason I couldnt get exchange to work on the 29.00 plan once I switched to the 45 it worked fine. I am wondering if since i got it set up and working can I switch back
     
  10. Ronbo19

    Ronbo19 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download Touchdown from the market. I use that with our exchange server, syncs my email, contacts and calender instantly (I actually get my email on my Droid before my Outlook sometimes). There is a one time $14.99 charge for it, but thats better than the ongoing monthly charge from Verizon. It has a 7 day trial period I believe to make sure it will work for your server.
     
  11. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go with the $45 a month plan. It will be the penalty you pay for asking the question without searching the forum.
     
  12. Dawg

    Dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +0
    was already using that but still had to use the 45 dollar plan to get it running
     
  13. garrett

    garrett Silver Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +4
    Weird. I have never had the 45 dollar plan and I have used exchange since day one. Try changing it and see if it continues to work.
     
  14. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who hosts your Exchange server?

    No problems using the $30 plan here either for Exchange w/ ActiveSync.
     
Search tags for this page

verizon 45 dollar plan