Data Plan Required.. The Answer is YES

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by danDroid, Oct 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LordKastle

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah like I was saying...you purchased the i760's before they required data plans and since you were already entered in to a contract they cannot alter it. When I purchased mine for someone else (May of 2008), I made a point to refuse an additional data plan. No longer can you do that though as all carriers are enforcing data plans on all smartphones.
     
    #61 LordKastle, Nov 27, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Which is how it should be....No Data Plan makes a smart phone worthless...
     
  3. Sogge

    Sogge New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    To me having data plan just seems the way to get the most out of the device. Unless the theres always going to be wi-fi nearby.
    Data + Droid is like peanut butter + jelly?? :icon_ banana:
     
  4. MountainX

    MountainX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I disagree -- because smart phones have WiFi. I know a lot of people that buy unlocked smart phones and use them mainly or exclusively on WiFi. In fact, my situation is that I only need a cellular plan a few days a month. The rest of the time I have WiFi available. So it does not make sense for me to pay for a full monthly contract when I won't use it most of the time.

    But I do agree that I need a data plan for those few days a month when I am traveling.

    I'm looking for a prepaid solution (in USA). I will purchase my Droid (or Milestone) outright and then I would like to find a prepaid voice and data plan that will let me use ALL the phone's features.

    Can anyone recommend a prepaid solution? :D

    Are there any Droid features that won't work with WiFi as the only internet access?
    Related question: does the GPS get a fix quickly when no internet is available at all?
     
  5. gritts

    gritts New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How "required" is required? I have read this entire thread, and there hasn't seemed to be a clear answer to this question:

    If you buy an unlocked Droid or Droid Eris off of, say, eBay, and then go about entering the ESN into Verizon's site (an action that would normally activate the phone on the network,) what would happen? What would stop this phone from being active WITHOUT a data plan?

    Thanks!
     
  6. 88Droid

    88Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    once you enter the esn on vzw.com, it will ask what features you want included with the phone (texting, ringback, etc..) and then it will have a selection box for data that says "YOU MUST CHOOSE ONE." you can't continue the activation process without choosing a data plan.
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb

    Sure, but no data/wifi....No Maps. Unless you have them preloaded....
     
  8. dezixn

    dezixn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't understand why everyone is all uppity about a data plan. Here's my thing...
    The droid has wifi, as do pretty much all of the smart phones now adays. All of these "cool" "extra" features on them require internet access. Now for me, I am blanketed in wireless networks all day. I wake up at home (covered in wireless by my wireless router), I drive to college(no wireless obviously, but I don't play with my phone while driving for obvious reasons), I get to college where every building and every bathroom and every blade of grass has wireless access.
    Now explain to me why I would need a data plan? I see the point of people using it on accident and ending up with HUGE bills. But why can't they simply disable using data on the verizon network and only allow wifi for data? You could retain your ability to do regular texting and calling through their network and keep your regular bill, and then use all the extra stuff through wifi!

    I went to verizon today to try and see if I could do that. But nope, data plan required, even though it makes NO SENSE for my situation. College kid hopefully entering into a professional school soon, no way I need an extra $30 on my bill. Needless to say I'm pissed, was really looking forward to a "cool" phone for once.
    Sure I could get an ipod touch or zune HD... But then I'd have to be carrying my old phone and the ipod touch would just be an accessory. The different is you almost always bring your phone with you, you don't always bring your mp3 player with you (well not to the degree that you keep your phone with you).
     
    #68 dezixn, Nov 29, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2009
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb

    If $30 is going to break you then maybe a flip phone is better suited....It's really that simple...
     
  10. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What a bunch of uppity bull****. Seriously dude. Your opinion on this is a waste of space. Your response is to verge on insulting people if they disagree on this subject. I am sure I can say with the majority of forum members that we are sick of your posts on this subject.

    This "feature" requirement isn't VZW looking out for us, or them trying to make sure we get the most out of our phone. It is simply a company looking for another way to make money off of customers. I don't have a problem paying for a data plan, but some might. There are lots of features using a smartphone that could be used sans data plan. Back in the day I used a Treo 650 without a data plan for a about 6 months and it was still highly functional. A phone WITH WiFi would be even better sans data plan.

    I don't care what Verizon's Talking points say.
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +27
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Sorry if the Truth stings... The whole data plan thing has been beaten to death in multiple treads on multiple forums....The answer is the same and no amount of crying that "I can get by with just wifi" is going to change anything.

    I've never been one to sugarcoat the truth, And I am sorry if I've offended anyone by speaking my mind.
     
  12. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, You've chosen this to be your pedestal on this and think it is important for you to respond to every single person who disagrees with you. The irony is that if enough people complain, verizon would in the end bend the rules, because the end goal is more contracts and more phone sales.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
does a droid 2 need a data plan
,
does droid phone require data plan
,
does motorola android x2 require data package?
,
does motorola droid a855 require a data plan
,

does the motorola droid a855 need a data plan

,

does the motorola droid a855 require a data plan

,
how much data is required for dataplan
,
lg-vs600 flashed activate without data plan
,
required data plan are a joke
,
whats the lowest verizon data package