Data on/off on S7

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S7, S7 Edge & S7 Active' started by aarong03, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    I'm new to Samsung, I just got the S7(not edge). I've always been a Moto guy. One thing I've been dealing with on my S7, is that I use Agent app to save battery overnight. Agent is unable to shut off the data on the S7, on my droid maxx it would turn it off. And when I turned Agent off/paused it would turn on data and wifi on my Maxx.

    Does anyone know why this might be not shutting off data on the S7?
     
  2. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    My guess is that it's related to the differences in permissions for Marshmallow. If the app hasn't been updated to fully support the changes in Marshmallow, you may be out of luck for now. Beyond checking the settings in the app itself, try checking these:
    • Make sure that the app in question has permission to modify system settings: Settings > Applications > Application Manager > More > Modify system settings. Scroll down to the app and make sure it's switched on.
    • It also may need to be enabled as a Phone administrator: Settings > Lock screen and security > Other security settings > Phone administrators. If the app is listed there, make sure it's switched on. If it's not listed there, then it either hasn't asked for permission to be an administrator or it doesn't need it.
     
  3. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    I will try these suggestions, thanks!!!
     
  4. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ok, I looked and it is not under Phone administrator settings lock screen section. So I guess I'm going to have to wait and see if they send out any updates. In the meantime, do you know of any apps that do similar actions as Agent app does?
     
  5. bruben7886

    bruben7886 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    629
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Ratings:
    +689
    If u can't find an automated way....or until u do:
    Pull down on the screen twice. There's a toggle called mobile data.
    Should work until u can figure out a way to automate the process

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yeah, that's what I have been doing for now. Thanks for the suggestion. I hope they fix the app soon. I enjoyed using it on my maxx, worked really well.
     
Search tags for this page

how to turn on data with s7