Data drops since update.

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by Zregnier, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. Zregnier
    Offline

    Zregnier New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    When I was on .893 I rarely had data issues. Since going to .902 and now .905 I'm lucky to keep data more than 10 min. I'm running Eclipse 3.0 and have tried everything imaginable to help this out but to no avail. I'm use juice defender for battery purposes but don't see this being the issue. I think I'm gonna try to convince VZW to give me a Razr MAXX.
  2. jawknee
    Offline

    jawknee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont think its the phone. i've had the bionic since day 1 with .893 and .902 rooted and never had any data issues until 2 weeks ago. now it keeps dropping. tried rebooting, wiping cache, removing sim card. removing the sim card help for a little bit, but when i opened facebook, the data dropped again. so i think theres a verizon network problem.
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,630
    Likes Received:
    753
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I think vzw has once again changed how our devices register with their towers. While I don't know for sure, it seems likely that this will be fixed by one of the upcoming ota's.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  4. bobbyp
    Offline

    bobbyp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think vzw has just been having issues for a couple of days. I have not received the ota yet but for two days I had had more data drops then I have in the previous three months of ownership.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  5. deduct
    Offline

    deduct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Same here in Arkansas. Data will reconnect itself within 10 seconds. But I have been having more drops lately than I have had in some time. 905 update allows radio to connect in record time if I do have a drop however.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
  6. josh1980
    Offline

    josh1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Personally, I live in a town of less than 10,000 in Illinois. I've never had any of the issues with data disconnects with one exception. In an adjacent town I've never gotten good data, ever. I get the 3G icon everywhere, but in this one town it's always white and I never get data to work unless I'm connected to Wifi. :p
  7. Mr.Badguy
    Offline

    Mr.Badguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also having the same issue. I suppose that does mean its a network thing and not a phone/sim card problem. Hope they get it fixed soon, otherwise what the hell am I paying for?
  8. Underwater Mike
    Offline

    Underwater Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I saw somewhere else (XDA, maybe?) that there's been more issues with VZW's 4g network. Have you tried the battery/sim pull thing? I was having some trouble a few days ago but have been stables since I did the sim trick. Just a thought.
  9. hubblemuffin
    Offline

    hubblemuffin New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having data problems as well. They first started when i flashed the Eclipse 3.0 on my .902 rooted, then after only a few days of data frustration, I flashed back to Eclipse 2.2 and am having the same data problems. I took a screenshot of my Phone Information menu it the error messages could possibly help with the situation.

    View attachment 51070
  10. josh1980
    Offline

    josh1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had my first experience with data drops. I have no 4g in my town but when I was in Chicago yesterday I had a strong signal but no data. I had to force 3g to get a good data signal.
  11. coop8070
    Offline

    coop8070 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a stock non rooted bionic and I updated to one of the leaked .905 updates and ever since my data has been horrible. I live in a city were I have full bars of 4g and I never had problems before. now my 4g icon turns white like every 15 minutes and I cant get data back without going in and out of airplane mode, sometimes it cuts out like every minute, which is a real problem if you take a wrong turn while using the navigation.
  12. DrewVT6
    Offline

    DrewVT6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *1st Post*
    I joined the site because my stock BIONIC has been struggling so much with data the past two weeks. I live and work in the LA area and have never had issues with my 4G coverage. Wonder what's going on... I updated to .905 last week per recommendations on the VZW forums, to no avail.
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012
  13. laugreg
    Offline

    laugreg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been having intermittent 4G LTE drops as well as my son and significant other. This has been occurring for the last two to three weeks but less often recently. At first I thought it was my phone but it seems to be a problem with others. So I'm assuming it's a network issue. Do you think VZW is doing something or screwing with the network because of the change to the share data plan?
  14. DamDroid
    Offline

    DamDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having data drop issues as well with my non-rooted Bionic for the past few weeks. However, it seems to be less frequent these past few days. I called Verizon last week and their answer was to ship me a replacement Bionic, but I'm thinking of keeping my original cause it seems like (after reading this thread) it's not the phone.
  15. wiseworks
    Offline

    wiseworks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too have had many problems with data drops since the last update. Prior to that I had zero problems with this.

    I've talked to customer service twice. The first time they reset my data and it worked for 2 days. The second time they said it was a Bionic issue and that they would overnight me a refurb. However, two minutes later they said that Verizon has been having 4G data problems all over U.S.A.

    Any suggestions?
  16. bobbyp
    Offline

    bobbyp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it is the Bionic. Right before the update I started to have issues that were network related. Verizon is expanding their network so quickly there are bound to be issues that customers will experience. I haven't had many problems lately but look through the forums other phones are dropping data. I personally would not want a refurb phone if your phone was solid before the update.
  17. drawbridgep
    Offline

    drawbridgep New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I pretty much just force CDMA only when I'm at work since I know it's going to drop in LTE.
    Two issues then really, 4G drops every few minutes, maybe coming back for a few seconds here and there and it doesn't automatically switch between CDMA and LTE.

    That said, if I drive around with nav running I see it switch between 4G and 3G.
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
Search tags for this page

android data drops after update

,
bionic ics upgrade data dropping
,

droid x2 eclipse loses data connection