Data/Cache wipe Question.

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Rick-s, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. Rick-s

    Rick-s New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please forgive the newbie question... but here goes :D

    I understand that the Data and Cache partitions are to be wiped prior to the installation of one of the roms.

    Also, from what I understand this means I'll have to re-install all my apps after rom installation.

    My question is, will there be any way to get back game saves or will I have to start over on any game I had?

    Thanks,

    Rick
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    What you are suppose to do is install the paid version of Titanium Backup and freeze your apps. This will allow you to retain your game saves.

    If you don't do that in games like Home Run Battle 3D, you will be starting over.
     
  3. Rick-s

    Rick-s New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does that work with apps like angry birds as well?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Ozzie

    Ozzie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +1
    I paid for this not long ago...didn't understand what the 'freeze' was about.
    I also like that with the paid version you can set up the restore to install selected apps unattended. Way nice.
     
  5. Rick-s

    Rick-s New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also noticed in metiCkOne's instructions for the FRG83D Stock rom in the sticky that he said:

    Am I reading this correct? Is he saying to restore with titanium (as you did) only without data... Wouldn't that mean you would lose your saves ... or am I totally misunderstanding... which could easily be the case :wink:
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7

    He's saying restore without saving data. I'm not going to argue with him, all I can do is share the benefits of my experience.

    I've never "froze" the apps with titanium myself because I didn't understand that part of the process but anyone who has experienced this will tell you this is what you need to do. But it's his ROM far be it from me to argue with a dev. So that leaves the decision up to you.
     
  7. Rick-s

    Rick-s New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your quick and helpful info.

    I wonder what the reasoning metiCkOne has behind that?
     
  8. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    Both methods will work fine. I used titanium backup to restore my data but when I didnt tell people to wipe everything and not restore using titanium I would get complaints about things being broken that worked fine. So basically it's to keep me safe from troubleshooting things I shouldnt have to.

    With that said you can use any method you want to restore all your stuff, as long as you know what you're doing. Hook's idea is a great one. I havent used it but it should work great.
     
  9. Rick-s

    Rick-s New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I'm going to purchase titanium now and with any luck all will be normal after the update and theme. Any chance of the blue-blackbar theme ??
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

when installing new rom do you backup existing rom andwipe d

,

wipe cache partition on droid charge