Darn Swype.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by maverick31210, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. maverick31210
    Offline

    maverick31210 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sick and tired of looking up threads on getting Swype to work on Droid 1. Has anyone found a full proof method? If not, I'll send a bitter, hateful e-mail to Swype about how much better SlideIT is :p.
  2. droidman101
    Offline

    droidman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they have betas for it...i have no clue why it hasnt been released for real yet
  3. maverick31210
    Offline

    maverick31210 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The betas always throw some kind of error, screen size, trial expired or text won't actually be input.
  4. barcodelinux
    Offline

    barcodelinux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update!

    I don't know if you guys/gals are using the leaks or the official betas but you have to update the betas.

    When you fire up swype, it calls back to the mother ship and asks if there is an update available. If there is, swype should (has done it to me) pop a message up on the screen saying that there is a new version available and to update it. After I update, it works just fine.

    When it stops inputting text, that's when I always know it time to update swype.
  5. PolyOlefin
    Offline

    PolyOlefin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can understand your frustration, but this is only your individual experience, not a problem with the company. I've been using the Swype betas for severals months without an issue.

    When it comes to features, SlideIT is most certainly not better than Swype.
  6. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the O/P never specified if they were an Official Beta Tester or not and if the answer is "not" then that is why these problems are occuring - Bootleg Copies yeild Bootleg Results

    If you are a Beta Tester then there is probably something in the install/sync process that you are missing

    Sent from my Original Droid using the Exclusive Droid Forums App (Available Free in the Market) :wink:
  7. barcodelinux
    Offline

    barcodelinux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True.

    10chars
  8. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check the forums on the Swype site. The beta manager has his recommended steps for installs and upgrades.

    +1. I suspect the OP is using a leak since those symptoms are typical of the leaks.
  9. barcodelinux
    Offline

    barcodelinux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even if you sign up for the beta, download, and install it, that particular version will NOT work forever. The beta MUST BE UPDATED to stay functional.

    The beta is free so I don't see the big deal here. Sign up, install, and keep it updated.

    Problem solved.
  10. barcodelinux
    Offline

    barcodelinux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1. I guess the OP doesn't know about the FREE beta program.
  11. chadwick108
    Offline

    chadwick108 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Western NC
    Or you could just install a rom such as ultimate droid that has swype built in and then would not have any issues. I also used the betas since they first dropped for the droid 1 and had a few issues but not anything that we keep me away from swype. ;)
  12. KellyTheChef
    Offline

    KellyTheChef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I get swype for my Droid? If I go to their website, it looks like the beta is closed.
  13. KellyTheChef
    Offline

    KellyTheChef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nm
    Just found the post saying where to go in order to get on their beta testing waiting list...

    Sorry! New to this forum!
  14. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    459
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It is closed
    Right now I'm toying with a keypad called 8pen.free on the market
    I've used swype,shapewriter,slideit and the stock. I didn't see the big must have with swype.I'm fastest on slideit,not far behind on shapewriter but swype was clunky on numbers and symbols. I had stopped using swype when it quit working anyway

    wified from a monolith using a slider
Search tags for this page

darn swype

,

your* darn swype