Damaged SD card??

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by phreakaj, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. phreakaj
    Offline

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to change batteries earlier and before i did my sd card was fine, changed the battery and came up SD card damaged. Chose not to reformat and checked the card in my computer and everything was working fine. Put another card in the phone , it worked fine. Replaced card that said damaged and it still says damaged. Any ideas on what may cause this behavior???
    BTW I was able to make a backup of the card on my comp after phone said it was damaged. does anything involved with rooting the phone used from the sd card or are all the programs i used saved/ran from the int mem.????
     
  2. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    if you have another card spare, copy the old one to the new one and try it agian, i just think you damaged somehow the filesystem on the card.

    Tigger
     
  3. kountryj
    Offline

    kountryj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had the same problem. for whatever reason my sd card decided to die on me. just make a back up on your computer of your files on there. i took mine to the local store and since it was still under the 30 day warranty they replaced it with one of the ones they had there. not out of the phone packaging, but one of the 59.99 ones. haven't had a problem since.
     
  4. phreakaj
    Offline

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    will this cause any probs with rooting or are all those files and helper apps stored on the phone mem?
     
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    no your phone will still be exactly the same...just minus the music/pictures/ etc., the root files have already been installed to the actual phone. As long as you backed up your card on the computer, you can still save your media files too so you should be good...
     
  6. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    are you doing any large data xfers routinely back and forth from the droid? I notice that after copying seasons of voyager I converted for the droid (these are like 8gb folders) that windows will start popping up saying possible damage and it wants to scan. I popped the sd into an adapter and let windows do scan and sector scan... 0 problems found and the error message went away. It could be just cheap micro sd chips and large amounts of data IO is wearing them out.
     
  7. phreakaj
    Offline

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No large transfers. The last transfer a few days before the damage was the backup I made. It is the stock card that came with the phone. What kind of quality are the stock cards??
     
  8. DroidDoc
    Offline

    DroidDoc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    just occurred to me this morning, currently copying files to computer but interestingly get error when try to copy the "Naked" skin for Beautiful Widgets and did just update that app yesterday and haven't re-booted since. Related? Don't know, still investigating. Was glad to see I could still Mount the card and copy files over to computer though. Might try to re-format the card when done and see if that works, might I suppose . . .
     
  9. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,707
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +164
    If your SD card goes bad in the first year they will replace it under warranty.

    Thankfully you can back up your card, a good friend of mine lost everything on is SD card recently with his Droid.
     
  10. DroidDoc
    Offline

    DroidDoc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI, finished transfer of files from SD to computer, still got error with a file in the "NakedDroid" skin folder under "Beautiful Widgets" -> "Skins" so just deleted it from the card, unmounted and card now works :icon_ banana:
     
  11. vertigoelectric
    Offline

    vertigoelectric Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found this thread because I just ran into the same problem. However, I am unable to copy anything to the PC because the computer doesn't see the card at all. :(
     
Search tags for this page
can rooting a phone damage the sd card
,
damaged sd card android
,

damaged sd card droid

,
damaged sd card motorola droid
,
damaged sd card motorola milestone x2
,

droid damaged sd card

,
droid sd card damaged
,
ds card problems
,
motorola damaged sd card
,
sd card damaged droid