D2G stuck at bootloader RSD not good.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Savergn, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. Savergn
    Offline

    Savergn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield California
    I tried to get the leaked release of gingerbread to work on the my D2.. and well.. it's been a hellish night so far. So bear with me if I seem distressed. After trying to get the GB update done via update.zip through the bootstrap loader, It took about 10 minutes to boot. I figured there was problem, so I did the same install instructions (format system, mount system) then in addition to, wiped data/factory reset and installed the ROM. It then bootlooped for quite some time, so I pulled the battery and now I have the whole "Ready to program plug in USB" crap going on. So I downloaded the SBF file for the D2G from TBH and have ran it. It froze at 94% of "Interface BP: Error Checking the RAM Downloader. I've gotten this every time. Please help.
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
    do you have a droid 2 or a droid 2 global they are 2 different phones.
  3. yurdle
    Offline

    yurdle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may have a corrupt SBF file. You might have to try redownloading it. I don't think you've completely bricked your phone, so hopefully its just a bad sbf file.

    Edit: and yes, as pc said, make sure you have the right sbf file.
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
  5. Savergn
    Offline

    Savergn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield California
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
  7. Savergn
    Offline

    Savergn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield California
    Installed the drivers you linked and restarted the computer, Currently trying to RSDlite it again. Long wait, sorry, thanks for the help again.
  8. Savergn
    Offline

    Savergn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield California
    Still no good. Also, this was the SBF that I redownloaded, so its the same, but a new file. It gave the error [0x709f](Error checking the RAM downloader) if that means anything.
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
    did you get that error code last time you did an sbf.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Also, does your bootloader say it's OK TO PROGRAM? Is code corrupt? Mem blank? Anything to indicate a more serious problem?
  11. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have googled and tried looking up that error code and have not found anything helpful. All I found was what you already had which was the rsdlite program and the sbf files.

    Im assuming you are following these steps:

    Method 2: While phone is off
    To manually put your device in bootloader mode:
    Turn off device
    press and hold the up and down volume buttons
    power on device (continue to hold the up and down volume buttons)
    wala - you are in bootloader mode
    Launch RSDLite (make sure device appears in window)
    Select SBF
    Start


    I will continue to look for a solution.
  12. Savergn
    Offline

    Savergn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield California
    So apparently the fix for this is to get RSDLite4.9. 4.8 doesn't do the job.. I thought it would as the link for it (4.9) was dead from TBH. Sorry the the ignorance.. and thanks again for all your help.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2011
  13. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So you got it fixed.
  14. Savergn
    Offline

    Savergn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield California
    Yes. Thanks again for all your help.
  15. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,383
    Likes Received:
    996
    Trophy Points:
    113
    good to hear.
  16. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    He tried flashing the D2 Gingerbread, not sure if this replaces the bootloader, but he might have very well perma-bricked his Droid 2 Global...
  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    ^ You got that right. :)
  18. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I mustt have missed that reply. So flashing D2 GB apparently does not change bootloader (you were lucky!)
    P3droid mentioned on his twitter flashing D2g with the D2 leak, will most likely permanently brick the phone. Good to know this doesn't happen. So many people keep confusing the two phones whose internals are so very different.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
Search tags for this page

bootloader d2g