1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

D2G Recording 720p at 15fps?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by kelemvor, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. kelemvor
    Offline

    kelemvor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    D2G Recording 480p at 15fps?

    Title says what I'm wondering. What's up with my D2G recording 480p res but only at 15fps? Is that a hardware limitation, a limitation with the build in "camcorder" app, or a misconfiguration on my part somewhere?

    edit: changed 720p to 480p. Sorry for the mistake.
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2011
  2. mrmattch3w
    Offline

    mrmattch3w New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    I too am curious. Ithink itd be a hardware capability mpre than a software bug or issue

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  3. kelemvor
    Offline

    kelemvor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, according to Motorola it's capable of 720x480 at 30fps. Not 720p (1280x720).

    I even loaded up fission and still am only getting about 15fps on videos. Frustrating...

    Here's the specs from motorola:

    MOTODEV > Products > Compare Motorola Products
  4. emarx429
    Offline

    emarx429 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This bothers me to since my fascinate can do 720p with the same number of megapixels on the camera... which leads me to believe its software, but if that's the case, developers for the og droid would've fixed this since the camera is physically unchanged from d1, d2, and d2g...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  5. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The D2G is a different processor, I believe the limitation lies there.
  6. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The d2g's processor is literally exactly the same as the other 2nd gen droids, just set to 1.2 ghz out of the box

    Sent from the F-Zero cockpit on my D2G
  7. Grassi
    Offline

    Grassi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's weird because I swear I can record 720p video at way faster then 15 frames. You should check your settings

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  8. kelemvor
    Offline

    kelemvor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What settings would those be? Can you post a sample video or anything?
  9. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didnt know the phone could record 720p, i actually only have the ability for 720x480 widescreen (the D1 setting, also known as dvd quality)

    Sent from the F-Zero cockpit on my D2G
  10. kelemvor
    Offline

    kelemvor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It can't, I made a mistake.
  11. Grassi
    Offline

    Grassi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It wont let me post the video, how do I do it?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  12. dbst
    Offline

    dbst New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Is it a youtube video? Just post the link
  13. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It could be your phone, or maybe you have cpu-sucking apps in the background?

    I just tested my video at highest resolution and the frame rate LOOKS like it is 30, but how would i be able to actually find out what it's recording at?

    Sent from the F-Zero cockpit on my D2G
Search tags for this page
720p at 15fps
,

d2g 720p