D2G Droid Overclock Users

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by TJConnery, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. TJConnery

    TJConnery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I swapped out SetCPU for Droid Overclock and set up the same profile: max 300MhZ when screen is off and of course a throttle down when the chip gets hot. I was AMAZED at the difference in battery life with the very same settings using a different app. I guess I will uninstall SetCPU.

    One question I have, could some one please post some screen shots or list your scaling frequencies? I would rather not play trial and error, and I have read that the D2G does't like anything over 1.45. What settings are people using?

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    If I were you I would purchase and download quickclock. It automatically calibrates to your phone and shows you the acceptable ranges for over and underclocking. Then you can export those settings and import them into Droid Overclock.

    JMO
     
  3. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I must have a crappy D2G, it doesnt like anything over 1251.
    1300 gives it stutters and freezes, no matter what level og voltage i try to use.

    Can some people really get 1400+?????

    Sent from the Blue Falcon cockpit on my Fission 2.4.3 D2G
     
  4. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well my D2 is only a 1GHz and I am overclocked to 1305...I kinda switch back and forth from 1250 to 1305....I would advise you to follow same advise I just gave in previous post.
     
  5. TJConnery

    TJConnery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick Clock

    Quick Clock does not list D2G as a compatible device. Again, I would prefer a D2G tested approach.

    Yes, I read on this forum that someone was able to achieve 1.41 (?) but that it froze after 1.45.

    I am just curious what the outer limits are for this specific device.
     
  6. draexo

    draexo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The calibrate on Quickclock showed me able to overclock at 1406. Yet that just turtles the phone. I did run it for half at day at 1267 with no issues. I have not been that interested in overclocking as I am more into saving the battery.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  7. TJConnery

    TJConnery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx

    Thanks, that's exactly the feedback I was looking for. I agree, power conservation is the priority, but I was trying to figure out what the top end limit was.
     
  8. bgrade

    bgrade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    which website did you find that, it cant be found on the default market, and its unavailable on appbrain?
     
  9. draexo

    draexo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quickclock is in market.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  10. bgrade

    bgrade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im sorry, i meant droid overclock
     
  11. draexo

    draexo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just went and checked. Search for "overclock". It is" Droid overclock" by Jrummy.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  12. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's the one....and that is on the market too.
     
  13. bgrade

    bgrade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    weird, on the default market its not there, and on appbrain its there but i get a message that says, "the requested item could not be found" ill probably check back later.
     
  14. draexo

    draexo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is odd. I have them all and prefer QuickClock.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  15. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just curious as to one thing, will it work to try overclocking on a stock rom and kernel on my d2g with jrummy's overclock app?