D2 wont activate. cant figure this out!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by anchellada, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. anchellada

    anchellada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i bought a used d2 off ebay and activated it on my verizon account. it says my device is active on there. but when i go to dial *228... NOTHING HAPPENS. no ring, no recording, no nothing. its just silent for about 30 seconds and then the "problem with activation" screen pops up. it says: "your phone did not activate. you may need to find an area with better coverage" etc.. its basically telling me i dont have any service. which doesnt make sense because everywhere i go it says that. and i do normally get great service where i am. also, in the status bar, its giving me zero service bars. whats going on?!?

    I will contact the seller if i cant figure this out soon, but i just wanted to know if you guys could help me first :)
     
  2. anchellada

    anchellada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welp i cant figure it out or find much on dialer issues so since i got the d2 off ebay, i guess ill just have to return it. the seller claims they tested it before it was sent butttt i highly doubt it since this is happening. oh wellll they better give me a whole refund and not try to send me another faulty phone or theres gonna be a problem...
     
  3. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Fleabay - there is a reason it got that nickname.
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,529
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,556
    try calling vzw to get them to help you activate it manually.
     
  5. skennelly

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
    I would try doing a factory reset and then activate it during setup. If you get *228 working press 2 to update your prl.

    Sent from my DROID X in Western Illinois
     
  6. anchellada

    anchellada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    this was the first time ive had problems with phones from ebay :/

    i tried a factory reset and went into the verizon store. nothing.
     
  7. xan

    xan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what happened when you did the factory reset? did flashing fail or did it get to post flash activation then fail or ...?
     
  8. anchellada

    anchellada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    it reset normally and went to the activation screen but still wouldnt let me dial out to activate the phone.
     
  9. xan

    xan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How many signal strength bars are there?
     
  10. anchellada

    anchellada New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    zero. thats what i couldnt figure out. its something with the dialer. i tried going into the app and reseting it, but nothing there either.
     
  11. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +240
    Surely if you went to a VZW corporate store they would have told you something? Did you call VZW support at 800-922-0204 from another phone? If you can get your money back or file a PayPal dispute that's your best option at this point.
     
  12. skennelly

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
    After the reset, start at the top left corner of the screen and touch each corner going clockwise instead of touching the android to begin setup. This should bypass the setup. Once this happens dial *228 and see if that let's you activate service.

    The other option would be to sbf and try again.

    Sent from my DROID X in Western Illinois
     
Search tags for this page
activate motorola droid x2 verizon
,
cannot activate droid x2
,
can't activate droid x2
,
cant activate droid x2
,

droid incredible 2 wont activate

,

droid x2 wont activate

,
htc incredible 2 wont activate
,
my droid x2 wont let me activate it
,
verizon droid x2 wont activate
,
why wont my droid 2 activate