D2 Will NOT DeOdex!!

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by Dustin., Sep 27, 2010.

  1. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Using xUltimate(latest version)
    Ran the process, no interruptions, no errors.

    Check file system and ALL .odex files were still there.

    Any suggestions? Help? Tips? Please let me know what else I can do to get this thing DeOdexed.
  2. roboots21
    Offline

    roboots21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Once you run the processes in xUltimate, it creates two folders, done_app and done_frame I think. You need to use something like Root Explorer or ADB likewise and copy the done_app folder to the system/app folder and copy the done_frame to the system/framework folder. I beleive there is a thread on here or over on XDA that has step by step to do this the proper way via ADB.
  3. AngDroid
    Offline

    AngDroid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Place done_app and done_frame folders from xUltimate folder tp the root of your sd card (/sdcard/done_app /sdcard/done_frame).

    Make sure your phone is plugged into the USB cable and PC Mode is selected and that you have debugging enalbed on the phone application settings.​


    Open DOS prompt and type the following commands or paste them at the DOS prompt.
    adb shell
    su
    stop
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    cp /sdcard/done_app/* /system/app/
    cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    rm /system/app/*.odex
    rm /system/framework/*.odex
    reboot​
  4. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    "adb" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    Thats the error message i keep on getting.
  5. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you deodexing so you can apply a theme?

    FWIW, 928Droid is going to be releasing a D2 theme/updater this week (maybe today/tomorrow) that will both deodex and apply his BEAUTIFUL Black Glass D2 theme automatically.

    A nice treat.
  6. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    No, I MIGHT be installing a theme, but as of right now, just looking to DeOdex so I can change a couple of things.
  7. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you running the command from the directory where you installed the Android SDK, or have you added that path to your windows path?

    For instance, on my computer ADB is in c:\Android\Tools...
  8. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Got everything going good until it came time to remove the .odex files...

    saying that ".odex is a read-only file system?"
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  9. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you've mis-typed something...that error message does not compute.
  10. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Got an error message, then phone got stuck in a boot-loop..
  11. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What error message...are you still messed up, or ?

    Worst case, you might have to SBF back to stock and start again, if you can't resolve this and don't have a Clockwork Recovery backup you can restore...
  12. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    I got the error message then CMD crashed, then my d2 started the bootloop.

    I've already restored back to working condition of course.

    And I'm still NOT DeOdexed. About to give up imo.
  13. AngDroid
    Offline

    AngDroid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just go to the 2.4.0 ROM. If you want to stay on the official current then look for a thread of mine that contains the latest official files in deodex form.
  14. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    And in worst case scenario, what COULD happen?
  15. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing, really...other than having to SBF back to 2.2.20 if you got into a weird state somehow.

    Motaboy's ROMs are very solid - you shouldn't have any issues if you follow instructions.
Similar Threads
  1. davenut
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    898
  2. Droid_Boi86
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,115
  3. rjc
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,214
  4. gammaxgoblin
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    1,970
  5. SPerry
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,061
Loading...