D2 vs D3

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by ncvikingx97, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. ncvikingx97

    ncvikingx97 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a droid 3, but ended up trading it in for an iphone. Despite the horrible mistake, i miss my droid, which had mucj. Etter performance. Okay so there are some good used unlocked droid global deals at amazon. My question to you is, is an overclocked droid global comparable to a stock droid 3. How much of a performance difference is there. What is the highest you have ever overclocked it?
     
  2. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a D2G. I never overclocked it, although I planned to. I had the program installed and ready to go, but I had such a hard time trying to keep my battery alive throughout a full workday that I passed on the fun stuff to try and find a fix for that.

    I don't know if I had a faulty battery or what, but it's hard for me to recommend that phone because of it. Also, I hope you don't remember anything about the D3's keyboard because the D2's is a step down.

    The D2G wasn't a bad phone, but my experience with it was marred by battery life issues.

    As a side note: If you're into rooting and ROMing and you do get the D2G, be aware that D2 ROMs are incompatible with it. Don't be like this one fool I know who stupidly installed a version of CM7 that was made for the D2 and got caught in a vicious bootloop...OK, that was me. Don't be like me:)

    Sorry I can't answer your actual question, though-lol.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. ncvikingx97

    ncvikingx97 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks fir the response. Meep em coming.
     
  4. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are unhappy with your iphone, why not take it back a get the D3 again? If they won't let you trade again, you can definetly sell your iphone on ebay for at least, if not more, than a D3 on ebay.

    Bottom line is that the D3 is significantly better than the D2 in my opinion and if you are looking to make either your primary phone, I would not suggest getting the inferior of the two.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. anthrpicdecadnce

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I used to have a d2g, rooted running apex. It was a great phone. The display was better than the d3's pentile display, the camera button was nice too (without a camera button, you cannot hold your phonelike you would a camera. It gets awkward to take shots sometimes). The problems i had with the d2g is random reboots (much more frequent than with d3), and the lack of a dedicated number row made typing a pain in the ass. It completely ruined any typing rhythm. Also 2 d2gs i had succumbed to the same problem: the digitizer. On both phones, the column between the home and back softkeys stopped working properly. Now i own a d3. I actually like this phone more than the old d2g. Its faster, smoother, and seems of higher quality. The display, though inferior, is much larger, eats less battery, and is more visible in sunlight. The d2g was definitely a nice phone but the d3 is just better. In my opinion anyway. Ultimately its up to you which of devices are better. Either ways, i'm sure you will be happy.
     
  6. ncvikingx97

    ncvikingx97 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the responses guys. Is there a significant browsing difference in the droid 3? What do you mean trade in? After the 15 day warranty? If a phone js unlocked, i can hook it back up to verizon, correct? How can i take my account off of my phone. Hopefully there should be a price drop after the droid 4 comes out.
     
  7. bacK_N_87

    bacK_N_87 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Significantly better phone I don't think we could make that argument about the D4. If you have the ability to skip D3 I would for the D4. D2 is definitely a step backwards to use for two years.



    Sent from my DROID3
     
  8. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You mentioned that you traded your D3 in for the iphone, I meant trading back. If it is past your warranty window, probably not an option. The change your service to a different phone, either call verizon and talk to a rep or go online to verizonwireless.com and change it yourself. A little heads up, I think if you change from an iphone online, it will want you to select a new data plan (tiered). If you currently have unlimited data, you might want to call in or even go into the verizon store to ensure it stays that way.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. ncvikingx97

    ncvikingx97 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if i get a droid, id have to get a new plan. I have the 2 gig plan. Couldnt I just switch? Thanks.
     
  10. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you could just switch. I thought you might have been grandfathered in to the unlimited data plan. No worries then.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  11. ncvikingx97

    ncvikingx97 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome ! Im hoping that i can buy a droid 3 cheaper when the droud 4 came oht.
     
  12. javipoo

    javipoo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never tried over clocking Droid 2. but I will now!
    I have a D3, loving it. A bit miffed about D4 coming out, but i'm not worried. The technology will only get better.
    in fact I had a realization. I love the size of the droid 2. It's perfect. Don't get me wrong I love my D3. But if you could keep the droid 2 size, which was perfect for my needs, give it a droid 3 keyboard, and 4G. That would be my dream phone.
    I'd even be willing to wait 1-2 years for technology to make this possible.
    But to answer your question, my girl has Droid 2 no over clock, i have Droid 3 no over clock . Whenever I go to her phone I'm so used to my D3 that i notice around a 2 perhaps 3 second speed difference when launchin an app. Nothing significant.
     
Search tags for this page
d2 or d4 batteries
,

difference between d2 and d4 batteries

,
difference between d3 and d4 batteries
,
difference between d4 and d2 batteries
,
difference between d and d2 batteries
,
difference between d and d4 batteries
,
difference d2 and d3 battery
,
difference d2 d4 battery
,
is there a difference between d and d2 batteries
,
what is the difference between d2 and d4 batteries