1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

D2 needs a sync option for FB

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by Mr.Droid2, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Why doesn't droid2 have a sync option for FB like the droid1? Cause I want to sync my contacts picture because my friends on FB change pictures and it doesn't change on my contact -__-
  2. gonnadie4thegov
    Offline

    gonnadie4thegov New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    uhh...it does?

    sign in to the facebook app on the phone or go to settings - accounts - add account

    though it wont let you only sync with your current contacts, forces you to sync all facebook contacts
  3. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Nawh it doesn't. I had to delete the account and add the fb account back to update my contacts.
  4. Lightnspirit
    Offline

    Lightnspirit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA State
    Yes it does. If you don't have the FB app, download it and type in your info, after that your phone will update and then you can go into your contracts.. all of your contacts + FB friends will be in there. Like the previous poster said it forces you.
  5. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Alright I will try it now. Thanks

    Fb app from the market right?
  6. Lightnspirit
    Offline

    Lightnspirit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA State
    Yup. It's free. I like it better than just using the browser on the D2 and logging into FB.
  7. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Okay thanks alot
  8. nickel4490
    Offline

    nickel4490 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I removed the social networking account for Facebook, downloaded and configured the free Facebook app from the Market, and my contacts are not syncing. Am I doing something wrong?

    BTW, the social networking is definitely the source of my poor battery life.
  9. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Yeah still won't update my contacts.
  10. Lightnspirit
    Offline

    Lightnspirit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA State
    Once you install the facebook app it should auto sync, if that doesn't work, go to accounts>add account> click facebook, put in your e-mail and pass and all of a sudden it should download, if you have a ton of contacts like me I used my wifi. If that doesn't work let me know I have my phone here and go back threw the entire process by removing mine and re-adding them.
  11. steve13
    Offline

    steve13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert
    If you're just concerned with the pictures staying up to day you can get the app sync my pix, and that'll do the work for you without fulling syncing everything.
  12. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Yeah I think that's the only way to sync the contacts. That's what I did then I lost all the pictures on my contacts and got scared then it was loading them back.
  13. nickel4490
    Offline

    nickel4490 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, that process configures social networking, which is what I don't want to do because it kills my battery. Thanks for the help though.
  14. nickel4490
    Offline

    nickel4490 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'll give this a shot. Thanks dood.
  15. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I downloaded the app. And I can't pass the donate popup
  16. Lightnspirit
    Offline

    Lightnspirit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA State
    Just sync it for the first time to get the contacts and pics from FB. Then turn off backgound data.

    Have you drained your battery and charged it back up 3 times yet? When I first got my phone I drained the battery down to when the phone shut it's self off and charged it all the way back to full 3 times....

    Tip for your battery life: Go to Data Manager>Data Delivery>Background Data and uncheck or turn that off, then back out to the main settings and go to Wireless & Networks>Wi-Fi Settings>Manage Networks(at the bottem) and then hit the botten to the left of the home screen button it will pop up a menu with two options "Scan" & "Advanced" click Advanced and go to Wi-Fi sleep policy choose "Never" that saved a ton of bettery life for me. I did try the whole keeping the screen on the lowest and only using auto-bright outside but that bothered me and i saw no difference.. also make sure your battery is on Nighttime Saver mode, it's the best. I get 2 days of normal use before I have to charge it and about 20-22 hours on heavy web-surfing/u-tube/facebook/text and playing blackjack/air hockey lol.

    Hope that helps some.
  17. Mr.Droid2
    Offline

    Mr.Droid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It won't sync all my contact pix, it only did like 30
  18. Lightnspirit
    Offline

    Lightnspirit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA State
    Have you done a factory reset yet? I'd try that, use backup assist to save contacts and google should sync your apps back so wont take all day, that might cure the issue.
  19. yankeebaseball
    Offline

    yankeebaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have contacts from fb that i dont want and it wont let me delete them unless i remove them as a friend
  20. authority11
    Offline

    authority11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually am having the same problem. I don't see any sync function for my contacts like I did with FB on my D1. What's the deal?